Author Topic: "Model default" diagram in an MDG model template  (Read 441 times)

Benno Dielmann

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
"Model default" diagram in an MDG model template
« on: November 10, 2014, 05:05:19 am »
Hello everyone,

I've got avery specific question for you experts on MDG technology generation:

It seems to be possible to include model templates into an MDG technology that have a "model default" diagram (i.e. the diagram being shown automatically when you open the project). At least some of the MDG technologies shipped with EA have model templates with a default diagram (take for example one of the templates under "MDG Technology Builder" in the Model Wizard).

Does anybody know how to define default diagrams for my own MDG technology model templates?

Model templates themselves I can add by editing the .mts file, as explained in "Incorporate Model Templates" in the EA help. However, there don't seem to be any hints about how to set the default diagram for a model template...

Thanks a lot in advance for any help on this...

qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 9025
  • Karma: +137/-126
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re: "Model default" diagram in an MDG model templa
« Reply #1 on: November 10, 2014, 05:25:22 am »
I'm not aware of a MDG-specific default diagram. However, you can set a model default via Diagram/Advanced/Set...

q.

Benno Dielmann

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: "Model default" diagram in an MDG model templa
« Reply #2 on: November 10, 2014, 11:02:29 pm »
Thank you for your answer...

What I meant is to have a certain diagram opened automatically when you create a new project and add a model using a model pattern from the Model Wizard.

For example, create a new model and select one of the templates in the "MDG Technology Builder" category. When you "OK" the Model Wizard dialog, EA automatically opens one of diagrams in the template.

I would like to have this behavior in my own templates of my own MDG technology.

Best whishes,

Benno

qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 9025
  • Karma: +137/-126
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re: "Model default" diagram in an MDG model templa
« Reply #3 on: November 11, 2014, 12:54:44 am »
I see. Too long ago I used it and it slipped out of my memory. So I can't help. Hopefully someone else...

q.

Simon M

  • EA Administrator
  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 6216
  • Karma: +49/-5
    • View Profile
Re: "Model default" diagram in an MDG model templa
« Reply #4 on: November 11, 2014, 08:37:36 am »
There is no such option in the current version of EA.
Simon

support@sparxsystems.com

qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 9025
  • Karma: +137/-126
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re: "Model default" diagram in an MDG model templa
« Reply #5 on: November 11, 2014, 09:06:19 am »
I remember something like a wizard or pattern which could populate a diagram.

q,