Author Topic: Include or extend?  (Read 6261 times)

TrtnJohn

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 176
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Include or extend?
« Reply #30 on: April 29, 2005, 01:56:34 pm »
Bill,

Do you think that an activity diagram would be better to describe what you are trying to show?  Use cases are for describing a System not necessarily a process.

Bill Egge

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 93
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Include or extend?
« Reply #31 on: April 29, 2005, 02:05:54 pm »
Possibly, but I am trying to understand use cases.  At some point I want to define what I was trying to do in the original use case.  But I do not want to jump into that yet.


thomaskilian

  • Guest
Re: Include or extend?
« Reply #32 on: May 02, 2005, 12:27:49 am »
Hi Bill,
I think you're on the right path.  :) Once you have the right perspective Use Cases themselves deliver a real value. Instead of starting with HOW you start with WHO, WHY and WHAT which in the end deliver much better results :D

alexander

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Include or extend?
« Reply #33 on: May 02, 2005, 11:32:13 am »
If you think 'include' and 'extend' are difficult to tell apart, just think about 'extend' and 'generalize'...

I review some of the diagrams and i think you should be carefull about confusing functional decompossition and including use-cases...
A use-case should bring value to the client using it (i know it sounds vague, but it is a vague difference)