Author Topic: Is it possible to implement C code generator?  (Read 309 times)

marS

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • I love YaBB 1G - SP1!
    • View Profile
Is it possible to implement C code generator?
« on: September 13, 2006, 06:49:53 am »
Hi everybody,

As a total newbie to this tool I wanted to ask if it is possible to implement a code generator myself in this tool and where I can find a good doku / tutorial for this process. And if I can do so from which diagrams can I generate code?

Thanks for answers in advance,

marS

Simon M

  • EA Administrator
  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 6215
  • Karma: +49/-5
    • View Profile
Re: Is it possible to implement C code generator?
« Reply #1 on: September 13, 2006, 03:10:32 pm »
Try version 6.5, it includes C code generation.
Simon

support@sparxsystems.com

marS

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • I love YaBB 1G - SP1!
    • View Profile
Re: Is it possible to implement C code generator?
« Reply #2 on: September 15, 2006, 03:36:49 am »
Thanks for your respond.

I tried the generator but I think I still need to implement a transformation by myself. Is there any docu or tutorial about this process. If it is possible at all.
And from which diagram is code generated?

Regards,
marS

thomaskilian

  • Guest
Re: Is it possible to implement C code generator?
« Reply #3 on: September 18, 2006, 04:16:50 am »
There's no tutorial AFAIK, just the Help and this forum. Code is not generated from a diagram but from classes. Each class has a Code and a Language property. You can gen code for a single class or recursively for a whole package. The code gen is a simple tool which spits out literals according to class properties, operations, attributes and relations. Additionally it can evaluate a number of confiditions. It is even possible to write an external code generator working thru the COM interface.