Author Topic: UML book recommendations?  (Read 6433 times)

wharley

• EA Novice
  • I love YaBB 1G - SP1!
    • View Profile
UML book recommendations?
« on: January 10, 2007, 01:56:58 pm »
I am an experienced Java developer.  I have purchased a copy of EA and am trying to use UML to document my designs, primarily to help me think through the problems but also as a way of creating documentation for others.  I am a complete UML newbie.

Can anyone recommend UML books that will fit reasonably closely with what is implemented in and supported by EA?

Thanks!

thomaskilian

Re: UML book recommendations?
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2007, 02:42:24 pm »
Search the forum for "UML books"

wharley

• EA Novice
  • I love YaBB 1G - SP1!
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 10, 2007, 02:57:23 pm »
Search the forum for "UML books"

Thanks, Thomas.  Doing so, I see many unrelated posts but very few recommendations, and none that seem specific to the situation I described.

Let me paraphrase my request:

Can anyone recommend books on UML that (a) are relevant to the design of Java-based software and (b) describe a version of UML that corresponds to what is implemented in EA (so that the terminology isn't too different or there aren't too many discrepancies in the way things should be drawn)?

thomaskilian

« Reply #3 on: January 11, 2007, 01:03:58 am »
Hi wharley,
UML is not specific to any coding language. It is a language of its own. The "pure" superstructures from OMG are nothing to digest after breakfast. Start with something like "UML distilled" or "for dummies" (can't remember the exact names, but they were mentioned here). EA implements the latest version 2 of UML so the books should talk about UML 2.0 and not UML 1.2 (2.0 has a lot of extensions; "basically" you could start with 1.2). When you're done with basics, read Sparxs whitepapers on their support page to get familiar with EA specific tool capabilities (especially Java code engineering).