Author Topic: How do I reference framework files  (Read 492 times)

jsimpson

• EA Novice
    • View Profile
How do I reference framework files
« on: February 28, 2009, 05:39:59 am »
I'm new to the practice of UML and am using it for a networked actionscript application.

How do I go about having classes declare inheritance of framework classes like flash.display.Sprite, or go about having a class realize flash.events.IEventDispatcher.

Also inside the UML diagrams when creating relationships between different objects I am unfamiliar with the terms used, is there a document that describes what they mean? For example I had never heard the term Realize to describe extending an interface.

Thanks!

Kevin G. Watson

• EA User
  • I love EVERYTHING including Microsoft
    • View Profile
Re: How do I reference framework files
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2009, 06:17:58 am »
Hi'ya... I've gotta ask; where did you hear the term 'Realize' used to describe extending an interface? It's plainly false, a class realizes an interface. Inheritance is used to specialize (extend) an interface.

You can set the superclass from the property dialog; right click the class and select properties. If you want to show this diagrammatically then you will need to lmport the framework library. If it is just a few, you could create the framework classes in a reoperate package.

EA's help system and mentoring do a fairly good description of the relationships... tho a little short on examples. Your might find a good basic book on UML in ya library might be usefull

Kevin [smiley=2vrolijk_08.gif]

jsimpson

• EA Novice
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 28, 2009, 06:58:46 am »
Thanks Kevin! I've never heard someone use the term realize at all. I'm a technical artist working mostly with 3d character rigging, scripting, tool generation, texture painting, etc.