Author Topic: Importing XMI from Papyrus to EA  (Read 2141 times)

Frank42

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Importing XMI from Papyrus to EA
« on: May 12, 2015, 11:14:54 pm »
Hi,

I am trying to import a simple model from the Block definition diagram from papyrus into EA.
It is just a simple block to begin with.
I used the *.notation from the project which is an XMI 2.0 file.
I renamed it to *.xmi and used the project import function of EA.
However while importing it throws the error 'import failed due to one or more errors'. Though the Log file says everything is ok. The model is not loaded.

What is the issue here and how can it be solved?

qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 8972
  • Karma: +136/-124
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re: Importing XMI from Papyrus to EA
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2015, 12:06:33 am »
It's probably not really XMI. Even if, XMI is NOT an open platform for model interchange. It works for quite a large range but vendors can put in their own stuff and others can croak at will.

Check if Papyrus has different export formats.

q.

Frank42

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Importing XMI from Papyrus to EA
« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2015, 11:44:17 pm »
I checked, and the .notations file is papyrus specific for just visualisations.

However taking the .uml and renaming to .xmi should do it.
(Answer by papyrus developer)
It seems it is supposed to be like that as there is no other way to export.
It still does not work, it says 'unknown xmi exporter or version'
Any thoughts?

Geert Bellekens

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 7752
  • Karma: +165/-21
  • Make EA work for YOU!
    • View Profile
    • Enterprise Architect Consultant and Value Added Reseller
Re: Importing XMI from Papyrus to EA
« Reply #3 on: May 13, 2015, 11:53:06 pm »
I would export a dummy package from EA and inspect the resulting xmi file and compare that to the papyrus file.

There might be something small you can change to make it work (such a setting the correct xml header or something like that)

Geert

Richard Freggi

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 43
  • Karma: +1/-1
    • View Profile
[Solved]: Importing XMI from Papyrus to EA
« Reply #4 on: August 23, 2017, 01:48:00 am »
Hello I resurrected this old topic because I was just now in this situation and could not find a solution online, but this kludge worked for me: I manually change the Papyrus *.uml file on the second line as follows:
From "uml:Model xmi:version="20131001"  to uml:Model xmi:version="2.1"

Then all model elements imported into EA correctly (even notes loaded correctly).  Obviously no diagrams since the *.di file is a Papyrus specific thing, but everything else seems fine!

I don't know why all my Papyrus UML files have xmi:version="20131001" in my *.uml file header.  I'll ask on the Eclipse Papyrus forum when I have time.

Simon M

  • EA Administrator
  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 6200
  • Karma: +47/-5
    • View Profile
Re: Importing XMI from Papyrus to EA
« Reply #5 on: August 23, 2017, 08:14:14 am »
xmi:version="20131001" corresponds to XMI 2.5.1.

What version of EA do you have? I can import an XMI file with that version without issues. (An export from EA with all information identifying that it is EA removed)
Simon

support@sparxsystems.com

Richard Freggi

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 43
  • Karma: +1/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Importing XMI from Papyrus to EA
« Reply #6 on: August 23, 2017, 10:19:45 am »
EA version 13.0.1310; importing a model from Papyrus Neon (version 2.0.2).  Couldn't do it without the kludge: I was getting an EA error message on the lines of "unknown XMI version".
« Last Edit: August 23, 2017, 10:22:39 am by Richard Freggi »

Simon M

  • EA Administrator
  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 6200
  • Karma: +47/-5
    • View Profile
Re: Importing XMI from Papyrus to EA
« Reply #7 on: August 23, 2017, 12:08:51 pm »
Then the good news is that 13.5 can import XMI 2.5.1 files without issue.
Simon

support@sparxsystems.com

Arun Gupta

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Importing XMI from Papyrus to EA
« Reply #8 on: December 14, 2017, 07:11:48 am »
A general comment - where I work, we love Sparx EA; but we are increasingly directed to work in open-source projects that use Eclipse/Papyrus for UML modeling.    We'd like to continue to use Sparx EA, and so easy back-and-forth between Sparx EA and Eclipse/Papyrus of UML models is going to be very important to us.

What we're working on:  https://www.onap.org/

Richard Freggi

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 43
  • Karma: +1/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Importing XMI from Papyrus to EA
« Reply #9 on: December 14, 2017, 01:16:18 pm »
Arun, if you find a way to import FROM Sparx INTO Papyrus please post!  Urgently needed for me (I use Sparx for work, Papyrus for teaching).  No dice on the Papyrus forum - nobody seems to have done it.