Author Topic: (825) No Drag and Drop from project browser  (Read 3042 times)

«Midnight»

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 5651
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • That nice Mister Grey
    • View Profile
Re:  (825) No Drag and Drop from project browser
« Reply #15 on: February 22, 2008, 03:40:17 am »
I get the 'ghost' selection and my cursor changes. Still, I cannot drop.

These may be different problems, but perhaps have common elements (pun intended!).

BTW: I got an error message when I actually attempted the drop (without the escape keystroke). Something about a bad argument or parameter, but I forgot to take a screen shot.
No, you can't have it!

mrf

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 312
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re:  (825) No Drag and Drop from project brow
« Reply #16 on: February 22, 2008, 09:11:29 am »
Thanks I got both of your emails:

David: The problem you describe is one we're currently aware of and are working to fix (as time permits).

Oliver: Still can't replicate your problem. Any time the plus (+) mouse cursor comes up I am able to drag.

Just out of curiousity, does it make a difference if you wait for another half a second when you select the item before you begin dragging it. It maybe that there's some delay in the focus settling to the new selection.
« Last Edit: February 22, 2008, 09:12:01 am by mfraser »
Best Regards,

Michael

support@sparxsystems.com
"It is more complicated than you think." - RFC 1925, Section 2.8

Oliver F.

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 573
  • Karma: +2/-1
  • Aren´t we all in the model business ?
    • View Profile
    • Karl Storz homepage
Re:  (825) No Drag and Drop from project brow
« Reply #17 on: February 22, 2008, 07:30:36 pm »
OK, one step further. It works again, at least mostly.
Just for reproducability reasons what I did between not working and working state:

I decided to change the screen resolution from 1280x1024 to 1024x768.
This did not make a difference.
I then opened the hierarchy view, then the element view after which I switched back resolution.
Afterwards I then switched to the model views browser and moved a package from the project browser to one of the model views which immediately succeeded. That was the point when I tried again to drop  a use case to the non-working part of the screen and voila- here it was.
I am now able to drop objects again to the diagrams, except a small area to the right which looks highly suspicient in position and size to the area where the project browser has been when switching resolution.

So conclusion: I believe that changing resolution might have caused an inconsistency with the project browsers size and position so EAs event engine got stuck with a wrong size of the project browser area.
Changing resolution occurs here on my laptop from time to time when using beamers in the various meeting rooms.

I will keep you updated if that happens again but in case somebody else notices this, try changing resolution back and forth.

Oliver

Oliver F.

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 573
  • Karma: +2/-1
  • Aren´t we all in the model business ?
    • View Profile
    • Karl Storz homepage
Re:  (825) No Drag and Drop from project brow
« Reply #18 on: February 22, 2008, 09:03:49 pm »
Quote
I will keep you updated if that happens again but in case somebody else notices this, try changing resolution back and forth.

Well, that did not take long. Here it is again after a while of working with EA. My resolution theory is also broken as I did not change resolution in between and it did not cure anything, but...

The model view browser definitely has something to do with that.
Opening the model views, I can drag and drop elements from an arbitrary view at any place in the diagram (the browser being docked to the right of the project browser, left edge of the screen).
I can even drop elements from the project browser in the diagram at any place (crossing the model view in between) and when I close the model views dialog I can drop all elements from the project except at the location where the model view had been docked.

If I now undock the project browser all locations in the diagram are availabe for dropping.

So here something is wrong with docking/floating dialogs, size and drop position events.

Oliver

mrf

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 312
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re:  (825) No Drag and Drop from project browser
« Reply #19 on: February 25, 2008, 11:24:11 am »
Thanks Oliver, I can reproduce that now. I'll have a look into it ASAP.
Best Regards,

Michael

support@sparxsystems.com
"It is more complicated than you think." - RFC 1925, Section 2.8

mrf

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 312
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re:  (825) No Drag and Drop from project browser
« Reply #20 on: February 25, 2008, 11:45:48 am »
Just a quick note to advise that the problem has been resolved and should appear in the next release of Enterprise Architect.
Best Regards,

Michael

support@sparxsystems.com
"It is more complicated than you think." - RFC 1925, Section 2.8

thomas.kilian

  • Guest
Re:  (825) No Drag and Drop from project browser
« Reply #21 on: February 26, 2008, 08:13:46 pm »
Does that mean beta02 or the next beta03?

«Midnight»

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 5651
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • That nice Mister Grey
    • View Profile
Re:  (825) No Drag and Drop from project browser
« Reply #22 on: February 26, 2008, 11:00:17 pm »
Or 7.1 production?

Or 7.5?
No, you can't have it!

Oliver F.

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 573
  • Karma: +2/-1
  • Aren´t we all in the model business ?
    • View Profile
    • Karl Storz homepage
Re:  (825) No Drag and Drop from project browser
« Reply #23 on: February 27, 2008, 12:37:50 am »
Quote
Or 7.1 production?

Or 7.5?

Hmm, Michael mentioned the word "Release" which smells a lot like 7.1 production.
Now that I have a workaround I can almost live with it, though I really want to have that fix (despite your sig, David :) )

Oliver

mrf

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 312
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re:  (825) No Drag and Drop from project browser
« Reply #24 on: February 27, 2008, 09:05:13 am »
It should be in the next build (build 827). Whether that is Beta 03 or 7.1 production hasn't been communicated yet.
Best Regards,

Michael

support@sparxsystems.com
"It is more complicated than you think." - RFC 1925, Section 2.8