Author Topic: Build 846 - notes crippled in RTF export  (Read 7259 times)

Oliver F.

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 573
  • Karma: +2/-1
  • Aren´t we all in the model business ?
    • View Profile
    • Karl Storz homepage
Build 846 - notes crippled in RTF export
« on: July 16, 2009, 11:17:55 pm »
This is a strange one and propably not related to EA but MS Word.
I have created several RTFs with build 846 now with different templates.
In several reports Word shows note texts from notes or scenarios crippled.  Text is omitted, colons and periods appear at the beginning of the sentence, text blocks are moved around in the section. Even better: The cursor movement is inverted in this text area. Right cursor movement cause the cursor to go left and vice versa.
I can select the text and copy it to Wordpad where it appears correct. I can even open the same RTF document in Wordpad and the text is ok.

Always only about 10% of the notes. Even more strange: After regeneration of the document other notes are affected and never the same one again. Sometimes no crippling is in.
I have the impression that it is related to the flag "Use style defined in template for notes" but there is not much of evidence.

Is anybody having a similar experience or can someone try it out?

Thanks in advance,

Oliver
« Last Edit: July 16, 2009, 11:43:24 pm by ofels »

Simon M

  • EA Administrator
  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 6200
  • Karma: +47/-5
    • View Profile
Re: Build 846 - notes crippled in RTF export
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2009, 10:03:55 am »
If you can send through a template to Sparx support we can have a look at it.
Simon

support@sparxsystems.com

Oliver F.

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 573
  • Karma: +2/-1
  • Aren´t we all in the model business ?
    • View Profile
    • Karl Storz homepage
Re: Build 846 - notes crippled in RTF export
« Reply #2 on: July 17, 2009, 05:50:24 pm »
Quote
If you can send through a template to Sparx support we can have a look at it.

Sent an email to support@sparxsystems.com

This occurs also with the basic templates in the standard deployment and it is highly annoying. It did not occur with build 845 so something must have changed in between.

Oliver

Dermot

  • EA Administrator
  • EA User
  • *****
  • Posts: 583
  • Karma: +6/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Build 846 - notes crippled in RTF export
« Reply #3 on: July 21, 2009, 11:32:26 am »
This appears to be a problem with the Left/Right - text flow.
I suggest you try:
1. Opening the template
2. Select all text in the document
3. Menu: Paragraph | Text Flow
4. Select: Left | Right -  option.
5. Save & Generate you report again.

Steve Irving

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Build 846 - notes crippled in RTF export
« Reply #4 on: July 28, 2009, 01:13:29 pm »
the suggested fix did not work for me...and it would make little sense if it did work too - given that the note in one element is coming out fine and then the next one is all over the place...it would appear that some "odd" characters are being included in the text.  When i copy the following "corrupt" text from the generated RFT into notepad:

"that all the required for Usage Logging is 221The important thing to test against the AP data is logged."

In notepad it actually comes out as:

The important thing to test against the AP221 for Usage Logging is that all the required data is logged.

(which is how it was entered).  

Also - if you generate and use the internal viewer - then it all looks as you expect.  My templates all worked ok before 846.  

Dermot

  • EA Administrator
  • EA User
  • *****
  • Posts: 583
  • Karma: +6/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Build 846 - notes crippled in RTF export
« Reply #5 on: July 29, 2009, 02:54:06 pm »
We do have a resolve for this issue in the next build to be released - Build 847.

Paolo F Cantoni

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 5882
  • Karma: +71/-79
  • Inconsistently correct systems DON'T EXIST!
    • View Profile
Re: Build 846 - notes crippled in RTF export
« Reply #6 on: July 29, 2009, 03:41:41 pm »
Quote
We do have a resolve for this issue in the next build to be released - Build 847.
Actually, Roy Dermot, you have a resolution for the issue...  ;)

Paolo
(Combat Language Entropy!)
« Last Edit: July 29, 2009, 06:37:19 pm by PaoloFCantoni »
Inconsistently correct systems DON'T EXIST!
... Therefore, aim for consistency; in the expectation of achieving correctness....
-Semantica-
Helsinki Principle Rules!

RoyC

  • EA Administrator
  • EA Practitioner
  • *****
  • Posts: 1157
  • Karma: +8/-3
  • Read The Help!
    • View Profile
Re: Build 846 - notes crippled in RTF export
« Reply #7 on: July 29, 2009, 04:14:04 pm »
Actually, Paolo, Dermot provided that response, not I.

Roy
(Fight Against Mixing Up Sparx Respondents, or FAMUSR)
Best Regards, Roy

Paolo F Cantoni

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 5882
  • Karma: +71/-79
  • Inconsistently correct systems DON'T EXIST!
    • View Profile
Re: Build 846 - notes crippled in RTF export
« Reply #8 on: July 29, 2009, 06:38:58 pm »
Quote
Actually, Paolo, Dermot provided that response, not I.

Roy
(Fight Against Mixing Up Sparx Respondents, or FAMUSR)
Whoops sorry for that...  Slip of the mind... :-[

You, of course, would not have committed such a sin...

Paolo :-[
Inconsistently correct systems DON'T EXIST!
... Therefore, aim for consistency; in the expectation of achieving correctness....
-Semantica-
Helsinki Principle Rules!

Martin Terreni

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 672
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Sorry, I can't write
    • View Profile
Re: Build 846 - notes crippled in RTF export
« Reply #9 on: July 29, 2009, 10:50:17 pm »
Long saga for us with this we reported this with frist release of 7.5(844?) ,even during beta testing...

I got a workarround:
Quote
Hi Martin,
  Thanks for the documents.
 
The only workaround is as follow
1. Open "Regional and Language options" in control panel
2. Switch to the Advanced Tab.
3. Change "Language for non-Unicode programs" to English (country)
4. Reboot machine.
 
Warning: I dont know what issues this might cause with other applications you have installed on you machine.
 
Please let me know if it works for you.  We are still working on fixing this issue without doing the above.
  
Best Regards,
Alistair Leslie-Hughes
Sparx Systems Pty Ltd
http://www.sparxsystems.com.au

worked for us.
« Last Edit: July 29, 2009, 10:59:45 pm by MartinT »
Recursion definition:
If you don’t understand the definition read "Recursion definition".

Steve Irving

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Build 846 - notes crippled in RTF export
« Reply #10 on: July 30, 2009, 09:22:36 am »
my language settings are already as specified so no difference for me.

Dermot

  • EA Administrator
  • EA User
  • *****
  • Posts: 583
  • Karma: +6/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Build 846 - notes crippled in RTF export
« Reply #11 on: July 30, 2009, 04:36:21 pm »
Actualy I shoud qualify the above statement, we do hope to have this resolved  in the next release, however it does apear that this is reproducible only in specifc releases of Word.  We are still checking this out.

Martin Terreni

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 672
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Sorry, I can't write
    • View Profile
Re: Build 846 - notes crippled in RTF export
« Reply #12 on: August 04, 2009, 11:37:18 pm »
still not solved in 847
Recursion definition:
If you don’t understand the definition read "Recursion definition".

Steve Irving

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Build 846 - notes crippled in RTF export
« Reply #13 on: August 07, 2009, 02:28:15 pm »
still not solved in 847.  I'm using Word 2003 SP3...will see what happens against later version of Word on weekend - mind u even if that works i can't change the version of word my workplace uses.

jeshaw2

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 701
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • I'm a Singleton, what pattern are you?
    • View Profile
Re: Build 846 - notes crippled in RTF export
« Reply #14 on: August 07, 2009, 02:44:11 pm »
Quote
Actualy I shoud qualify the above statement, we do hope to have this resolved  in the next release, however it does apear that this is reproducible only in specifc releases of Word.  We are still checking this out.
So 'resolve' is correct, not 'resolution'? :D
Verbal Use Cases aren't worth the paper they are written upon.