Sparx Systems Forum

Discussion => General Board => Topic started by: Paolo F Cantoni on March 11, 2007, 10:09:33 pm

Title: Setting default database datatype
Post by: Paolo F Cantoni on March 11, 2007, 10:09:33 pm
Before I report a bug, does anyone know how to set a default database column datatype (such as you can with code languages Default Attribute Type - using Tools|Options|Source Code Engineering|<language>)

EA seems to take the first item on the list - which in Oracle's case is BFILE - as useful as the proverbial...

TIA,
Paolo
Title: Re: Setting default database datatype
Post by: «Midnight» on March 12, 2007, 03:12:32 am
Quit carping Paolo, the answer is obvious.

For each column, just choose the DBMS with the closest data type to the one you need at the beginning of the alphabet.

Why else would we have multiple DBMS selections anyway?

[Alternatively, I suppose Sparx could provide a different solution. Still, that would require us to set a default type, probably without even getting a (substantial) raise for the increased work load, stress, danger, etc.]