Sparx Systems Forum

Discussion => General Board => Topic started by: skiwi on March 03, 2011, 07:55:57 am

Title: EA 9 Beta
Post by: skiwi on March 03, 2011, 07:55:57 am
Great to see the EA 9 beta. I've downloaded it and hope to play this weekend.
<pickymode>
On a foreboding note though, I trust the attention to detail will be greater than the introductiory notes at http://www.sparxsystems.com/products/ea/beta.html (http://www.sparxsystems.com/products/ea/beta.html) wich culd do with goodspell chick and proff reed.
</pickymode>
Title: Re: EA 9 Beta
Post by: skiwi on March 03, 2011, 01:34:50 pm
<pickymode>
When I print http://www.sparxsystems.com/products/ea/beta.html (http://www.sparxsystems.com/products/ea/beta.html) (I'm old fashioned see) neither IE8 or Chrome do a good job of printing the page. In fact much of the useful content is off the RHS of the page.

As a starter for 10 how about hiding the LH sidebar, and top menu bars not to mention the bottom menu, after all they are no use on printed output.
Hint: for @media print (http://www.w3.org/TR/CSS2/media.html) just set display none (http://www.w3schools.com/css/pr_class_display.asp) for these parts of the page

Then please do whatever else it takes to make it print properly.
</pickmode>
Title: Re: EA 9 Beta
Post by: qwerty on March 03, 2011, 09:22:22 pm
Let us know how much Santa/Easter bunny were involved in V9 from your point of view.

q.
Title: Re: EA 9 Beta
Post by: Graham_Moir on March 03, 2011, 10:11:49 pm
I don't see any reference to document generation in the enhancements list    :'(
Title: Re: EA 9 Beta
Post by: Aaron B on March 04, 2011, 09:50:09 am
Quote
I don't see any reference to document generation in the enhancements list    :'(
There are entire sections in the Release Notes titled Reporting, RTF Reporting and HTML Reporting.
http://www.sparxsystems.com/products/ea/beta.html#releasenotes
Title: Re: EA 9 Beta
Post by: Sunshine on March 04, 2011, 12:04:41 pm
Look again Graham, it mentions the following;
"Improved Document Template Design and the ability to output documentation to PDF. "
Title: Re: EA 9 Beta
Post by: Simon M on March 07, 2011, 11:05:15 am
skiwi, in regards to your two picky comments.

The release notes were in a pretty bad state, and they have since been updated along with the beta page.  (As the note at the top of the release notes says may happen.)

However, I don't think that the stylesheet is remotely relevant to version 9.  Further, I'm 99% sure that our web developer does not check this forum.  I don't know if we have a process for users commenting or requesting changes on our web design, but I do know that here is not the place to do it if you want a change made.

<pickymode>
You have an mismatched end-tag in your second post.
</pickymode>
Title: Re: EA 9 Beta
Post by: skiwi on March 07, 2011, 12:00:22 pm
Quote
skiwi, in regards to your two picky comments.
However, I don't think that the stylesheet is remotely relevant to version 9.
Only that it was the beta nine information I was wanting to print out !.

Thanks for that anyway, perhaps I'll send in a feature request.

Quote
<pickymode>
You have an mismatched end-tag in your second post.
</pickymode>
;D indeed, can't trust these data entry clerks
Title: Re: EA 9 Beta
Post by: Graham_Moir on March 07, 2011, 09:46:14 pm
OK, I stand corrected, and I'm very pleased with what appears to be included.   I originally looked at:

     http://www.sparxsystems.com/products/betas.html

and at the the time I don't think the detailed release notes were on that page.  
Title: Re: EA 9 Beta: Unicode files and paths
Post by: skiwi on March 08, 2011, 09:46:10 am
My eap file is here:
(http://i306.photobucket.com/albums/nn245/copperkiwi/Sparx/Desktop_2011-03-08_10-05-35.png)
When I double click on it I get the message
(http://i306.photobucket.com/albums/nn245/copperkiwi/Sparx/EA_2011-03-08_11-06-21.png)

Surely in 2011 I can open a file which has a unicode character in its file name?

Notes:
Opens if I remove the "[ch257][ch275][ch299][ch333][ch363]".
Also opens if the folder is "[ch257][ch275][ch299][ch333][ch363]" as long as the file name does not have "[ch257][ch275][ch299][ch333][ch363]" in it!

[edit][timestamp=1300140644]/me registered bug registered[/edit]
Title: Re: EA 9 Beta: Use JET 4.0
Post by: skiwi on March 08, 2011, 09:49:00 am
High time the default is set to "Use Jet 4.0" or the option be prompted for in the install.
And the JET 4 files distributed with EA.
Title: Re: EA 9 Beta: Dialogue resizing
Post by: skiwi on March 08, 2011, 09:57:20 am
The first dialogue box I come across is not fit for purpose.
Containing a Connection string, path, as well as file name,
it is not resizable.
(http://i306.photobucket.com/albums/nn245/copperkiwi/Sparx/OpenEnterpriseArchitectProject_2011-03-08_11-13-50.png)
Title: Re: EA 9 Beta
Post by: Sunshine on March 08, 2011, 02:56:33 pm
Skiwi,
Great to see you testing out Version 9 Beta however is posting all the problems you find here the best place for Sparx Systems to deal with them or is there a better place?

Being picky I note the footer on your posts says
Quote
Using EA8.0 (864) on Windows XP SP3. Repositories in SQLServer2005 & Access2003/JET4.0
Isn't  quite right if you are testing V9.0 is it? 

:P
Title: Re: EA 9 Beta
Post by: skiwi on March 09, 2011, 11:06:52 am
We are using 864. Sparx clearly warn that the beta should not be used on production systems.

Our testing is on a separate machine, with .eap files only (more difficult to test against our sql server repositories).

Sparx have not indicated what they want done with beta bug reports.
But I figured that it made sense to post these here (given the lack of visibility of bug reports) to save others retesting the same bugs, and to get the normal forum feedback, ie support for having the bug fixed, or perhaps finding out it isn't a bug, just a feature!
Title: Re: EA 9 Beta:Unicode in notes fields.
Post by: skiwi on March 10, 2011, 11:00:12 am
Using W7P 64 bit, and M[ch257]ori language keyboard (http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/en/details.aspx?FamilyID=27AB0EC0-C2B3-409E-BDF1-D56CD5E90D9C&amp;displaylang=en) (part of W7),
(http://i306.photobucket.com/albums/nn245/copperkiwi/Sparx/PackageUnicodetest_2011-03-10_12-55-57.png)

I am able to enter unicode into all fields except notes.
[edit][timestamp=1300141103]/me registered bug registered[/edit]

Title: Re: EA 9 Beta: export fails
Post by: skiwi on March 10, 2011, 11:09:16 am
I cannot export my test model.
(http://i306.photobucket.com/albums/nn245/copperkiwi/Sparx/ExportPackagetoXMI_2011-03-10_13-12-11.png)
(http://i306.photobucket.com/albums/nn245/copperkiwi/Sparx/Unicodetest_export.png)
This looks more serious, and the log doesn't show much.

[edit][timestamp=1299798943]/me Now formally reported as a bug[/edit]
[edit][timestamp=1299820776]/me  A prompt and interesting response from support that explains the problem.
EA is able to export your example model to XML in memory, but is unable to save to the specified file because of the current code page configured in EA.  EA's default encoding scheme is "windows-1252", which unfortunately does not have the capacity to handle these unicode characters.

Refer to the attached file "Snapshot.PNG" - The stereotype "[ch257][ch275][ch299][ch333][ch363]" will be exported as boxed in red.  The "windows-1252" code page is not able to handle these unicode characters, hence the error message when attempting to save the XMI file.

Changing EA's default encoding scheme to either "UTF-8" or "UTF-16" should allow your export to complete successfully.

- In Enterprise Architect, open Tools | Options
- select the "XML Specifications" page
- Set "Code Page" to either "UTF-8" or "UTF-16"

Please Note: This error is not specific to EA 9 - earlier builds of EA would also encounter this error when exporting to XMI 2.1.  This will also occur when exporting to the ECore and OMG XMI formats now available in EA 9 as XMI 2.1 is their underlying format.

My further suggestions are thatJust as an aside I thought that XML characters (http://www.w3.org/TR/2006/REC-xml11-20060816/#charsets) were represented as Unicode [/edit]
Title: Re: EA 9 Beta:table paste into notes field.
Post by: skiwi on March 10, 2011, 11:27:43 am
I'm at the point of asking whether I wasted my time submitting bug reports.
Pasting text from a table into a notes field.

The table
(http://i306.photobucket.com/albums/nn245/copperkiwi/Sparx/Untitled1-LibreOfficeWriter_2011-03-10_13-23-16.png)

Pasted into note field
(http://i306.photobucket.com/albums/nn245/copperkiwi/Sparx/ArtifactTablepasteintonote_2011-03-10_13-23-51.png)

after save
(http://i306.photobucket.com/albums/nn245/copperkiwi/Sparx/ArtifactTablepasteintonote_2011-03-10_13-24-16.png)
Title: Re: EA 9 Beta:Spell check formatting in notes
Post by: skiwi on March 10, 2011, 02:10:35 pm
(http://i306.photobucket.com/albums/nn245/copperkiwi/Sparx/Notes_2011-03-10_16-07-33.png)
when the spell checker checks the note it incorrectly spell checks the underlying formatting.
(http://i306.photobucket.com/albums/nn245/copperkiwi/Sparx/SpellCheckNonunicodetests--EnglishUS_2011-03-10_16-07-09.png)
Title: Re: EA 9 Beta: Spell checker doesn't do unicode
Post by: skiwi on March 10, 2011, 02:31:48 pm
(http://i306.photobucket.com/albums/nn245/copperkiwi/Sparx/SpellCheckUnicodetest--EnglishUS_2011-03-10_16-26-15.png)
Spell check should display "t[ch275]n[ch257]" and allow it to be saved to the dictionary.


(http://i306.photobucket.com/albums/nn245/copperkiwi/Sparx/SpellCheckUnicodetest--EnglishUS_2011-03-10_16-15-02.png)
This is clearly not a doubled word.


Note also that while the spell check dialogue does now allow unicode characters to be entered it strips the unicode values when replacing with them.


[edit][timestamp=1300141339]/me registered bug registered[/edit]


Title: Re: EA 9 Beta:table paste into notes field.
Post by: Geert Bellekens on March 10, 2011, 07:11:29 pm
Quote
I'm at the point of asking whether I wasted my time submitting bug reports.
Pasting text from a table into a notes field.

The table
(http://i306.photobucket.com/albums/nn245/copperkiwi/Sparx/Untitled1-LibreOfficeWriter_2011-03-10_13-23-16.png)

Pasted into note field
(http://i306.photobucket.com/albums/nn245/copperkiwi/Sparx/ArtifactTablepasteintonote_2011-03-10_13-23-51.png)

after save
(http://i306.photobucket.com/albums/nn245/copperkiwi/Sparx/ArtifactTablepasteintonote_2011-03-10_13-24-16.png)

Skiwi,

Tables in notes were not supported in V8, and I don't think they are in V9, so what you are seeing is the same behavior as seen in V8.

Geert
Title: Re: EA 9 Beta
Post by: rrjobse on March 11, 2011, 12:11:01 am
Any thoughts on release date/quarter/year of the EA 9 final release? And intermediate releases, like beta 2, release candidate?
Title: Re: EA 9 Beta
Post by: Geert Bellekens on March 11, 2011, 12:54:07 am
Judging from past experiences, the beta2 will be released in about a week, and about two weeks later we will see the final release.

Geert
Title: Re: EA 9 Beta:table paste into notes field.
Post by: skiwi on March 11, 2011, 06:46:00 am
Quote
Tables in notes were not supported in V8, and I don't think they are in V9, so what you are seeing is the same behavior as seen in V8.

Geert

Correct, I wasn't asking for table support,
simply to remove the formatting that isn't supported by the control, as is done for, say, when typeface is pasted in.
Title: Re: EA 9 Beta
Post by: Simon M on March 11, 2011, 08:44:10 am
So, are you going to actually report any of these or just complain to users?  Although, to me it looks like you are just testing issues you have complained about previously and weren't listed in the release notes.  As a general rule if it's not in the release notes it hasn't changed.
Title: Re: EA 9 Beta
Post by: alindan on March 11, 2011, 09:00:05 am
I am not a "registered user" anymore, we have not maintained our annual upgrade rights (the new features were not of interest to us for us, plus some funding issues). However we are looking at building a business case to renew the license for your products. Is there any possibility to get involved in the beta testing for non-registered users?
Title: Re: EA 9 Beta
Post by: skiwi on March 11, 2011, 10:09:18 am
Quote
So, are you going to actually report any of these or just complain to users?
 
You want a format bug report for each of these issues then?

I would have found it helpful if that had been made clear on the download (http://www.sparxsystems.com/products/ea/beta.html) page. (see my post (http://www.sparxsystems.com/cgi-bin/yabb/YaBB.cgi?num=1299099357/13#13) above)
Quote
Although, to me it looks like you are just testing issues you have complained about previously and weren't listed in the release notes.  As a general rule if it's not in the release notes it hasn't changed.
Well sorry, of course I am, I reported these because they impact our use of the product in the hope of them being remedied, especially the unicode ones.
If you are not going to fix them for a major release of the product when are you going to fix them?
And IMHO its very hard to divine from the release notes what has and hasn't been fixed.
If perhaps, like some other vendors I deal with, you assigned some sort of identifier to an issue, and then used that reference number as well as the description in the release note, we wouldn't have to guess.

The export problem certainly is not an old, or reported problem.
Title: Re: EA 9 Beta
Post by: Martin P on March 12, 2011, 05:02:49 am
Is there any chance that the visual representation of internal transitions in state machine diagrams gets corrected for the final release of EA9? Currently there are no visual clues that allow to distinguish an internal transition from a self transition, which will result in a lot of misunderstanding if somebody just looks at the diagram.
Title: Re: EA 9 Beta
Post by: Thelonius on March 13, 2011, 01:41:24 pm
Quote
So, are you going to actually report any of these or just complain to users?  Although, to me it looks like you are just testing issues you have complained about previously and weren't listed in the release notes.  As a general rule if it's not in the release notes it hasn't changed.

Hello. I think Sparx customers deserve a bit more respect than this contemptuous, patronising and condescending response demonstrates.

Many of us have, for years, followed Sparx's suggestions re submitting "feature" and / or "bug" requests. These were always uniformly met with complete and total silence. Not even so much as a "Thank you, your submission has been received and may be considered for implementation in a future release."

I think all of us are hoping that the defect reports and feature requests we have posted over the past few years may have found their way into v9. Not an unreasonable hope, I would have thought.

If "Release Notes" for v9 are comparable to the rest of Sparx's documentation, they provide considerable room for interpretation.

Hmm.
Title: Re: EA 9 Beta
Post by: Martin P on March 14, 2011, 08:06:45 pm
Just asking if there is a possibly closed forum or any other means around, where one could post bug reports. I would think that this is what a beta version is for.
Title: Re: EA 9 Beta
Post by: Simon M on March 15, 2011, 09:00:42 am
I apologize for the apparent tone of my previous message. I did not intend to sound negative in any way.

Primarily I really wanted to offer a reminder that this is a user forum. The support system for Enterprise Architect is from the forms provided for that purpose (links at bottom of page) and email.

There are a massive number of bug fixes and features requested by users in version 9, but in the end some prioritization needs to happen. If your particular issue hasn't been fixed then I apologize.

The export problem that you've described is part of why it's called a beta version and isn't recommended for production use.  Which makes it all the more important that it is reported through the appropriate channels.

Alindan, my current understanding is that a beta 2 will be released soon which will be open to non-registered users.

Martin, I'm not an expert at that sort of modeling, but I believe if you open the state operations dialog you can enter free text in the action field.  This gives the same appearance as an internal transition.  Also, see the bug report forms already mentioned.
Title: Re: EA 9 Beta
Post by: Simon M on March 15, 2011, 01:50:50 pm
By the way, there is a link to the EA 9 beta bug report form from the download page.  Although I've asked for it to be made more obvious.

For the beta version the best page to use is http://www.sparxsystems.com/registered/reg_bug_report_beta.html although sending through other forms will still get the appropriate response.
Title: Re: EA 9 Beta
Post by: tigershark on March 15, 2011, 07:25:36 pm
Quote
Is there any chance that the visual representation of internal transitions in state machine diagrams gets corrected for the final release of EA9? Currently there are no visual clues that allow to distinguish an internal transition from a self transition, which will result in a lot of misunderstanding if somebody just looks at the diagram.

Totally agree, this is a big deal in showing diagrams to other people, especially if they're used to other UML tools, that display internal transitions correct.
Title: Re: EA 9 Beta
Post by: Su on March 16, 2011, 09:25:21 pm
Hi all

I've just tested the RTF reporting tool in the beta version and I have weird problem.
Some use cases are missing in the created RTF.

We use the master document/model document approach for the report generation. The project is stored as .eap file (using the jet database).
The used project was a productive .eap file  of version 8.0 Build 864.
Any ideas for further investigation?? And has anybody else this problem or is it just me?

Su
Title: Re: EA 9 Beta
Post by: Johnno on March 25, 2011, 07:36:28 am
The EA 9 Beta release notes mention "Support for the SysML 1.2 specification".   Can anyone elaborate or provide any insight as to what this support might actually entail?  (I.E. What has changed since EA version 8's former support of the SysML 1.1 standard?)

Thanks,
--Johnno
Title: Re: EA 9 Beta: Autosize columns
Post by: skiwi on March 25, 2011, 07:51:49 am
The beta release notes mention
"Don't honor the Auto size for table columns when importing from a word document"

Shouldn't this be the other way around; EA should support autosize for table columns?!
Title: Re: EA 9 Beta
Post by: Simon M on March 25, 2011, 09:35:20 am
Johnno, I don't know the answers.  But you can probably find the differences between sysml 1.1 and sysml 1.2, but it would mostly be a matter of checking the spec.  (I know, not an easy task)

Regarding the auto-size of columns, I believe the library we use for documents has never supported it.  The change it to make sure it doesn't do anything bad when they are found.
Title: Re: EA 9 Beta
Post by: skiwi on March 25, 2011, 02:03:31 pm
Quote
Regarding the auto-size of columns, I believe the library we use for documents has never supported it.  The change is to make sure it doesn't do anything bad when they are found.
This has been the subject of a feature request,
hence my comment.
Title: Re: EA 9 Beta:table paste into notes field.
Post by: skiwi on May 12, 2011, 09:32:24 am
Quote
Tables in notes were not supported in V8, and I don't think they are in V9, so what you are seeing is the same behavior as seen in V8.

I'm asking for the html to be stripped from the pasted text.
Title: Re: EA 9 Beta: Spell checker doesn't do unicode
Post by: skiwi on May 12, 2011, 09:35:02 am
Quote
Note also that while the spell check dialogue does now allow unicode characters to be entered it strips the unicode values when replacing with them.

[edit][timestamp=1300141339]/me registered bug registered[/edit]

Still not fixed in 9 RC

In fact the dialogue box can't event display unicode. Help
(word should display as wh[ch257]nau)
(http://i306.photobucket.com/albums/nn245/copperkiwi/Sparx/CheckSpelling_2011-05-12_11-35-33.jpg)
Title: Re: EA 9 Beta: Spell checker doesn't do unicode
Post by: Paolo F Cantoni on May 12, 2011, 10:00:30 am
Quote
[size=18]...[/size]
Still not fixed in 9 RC
[size=18]...[/size]
That's Beta 3, yes?  Not some other release since?

Paolo
Title: Re: EA 9 Beta
Post by: skiwi on May 12, 2011, 10:15:28 am
Its confusing

Quote
Enterprise Architect 9 beta

Prerelease build 903.9

Warning: This is a BETA release. As such these notes may be incomplete and are subject to change without notice.
21/04/2011
On page http://www.sparxsystems.com/products/ea/beta-patch.html
Title: Re: EA 9 Beta
Post by: Paolo F Cantoni on May 12, 2011, 10:45:56 am
That's the one...

The Help|About says: 9.0.903 build(903)

Paolo
Title: Re: EA 9 Beta
Post by: EeJay on May 12, 2011, 10:04:35 pm
I am very confused by this whole thread. I have posted many bug reports and enhancement suggestions using the online links for such things. It doesn't take effort to follow the correct process. So far all I see in this thread is useless spam.

I will however say to Sparx, unlike when I log a bug on Talend's website I have no way of keeping track of bugs or suggestions to know that anyone actually is taking it seriously or that an feature request will be included in a future patch etc. Unless of course I am missing something, it would be nice to have access to something like Mantis for tracking bugs/features and also would allow people to see what is already logged and not duplicate.   :-?
Title: Re: EA 9 Beta
Post by: qwerty on May 12, 2011, 10:41:11 pm
Eejay,
I do the very same (using another site for bug tracking). I had a couple of threads regarding bug tracking. No one seems to be interested. Only a minority of the users, none of the Sparxians. They seem to have an internal tracker (hence the reference numbers you get). But they will not give any insight. I gave up any hope...

q.
Title: Re: EA 9 Beta
Post by: EeJay on May 12, 2011, 11:02:02 pm
Bah humbug. It's a pity because it does make you feel like you are of some value for all the $$$ you forked for EA. (yip, my company wouldn't buy a license so I had to pay out of my own pocket, sad indeed. but I'll get over it)
  :'(
Title: Re: EA 9 Beta
Post by: skiwi on May 13, 2011, 07:02:07 am
Quote
I have posted many bug reports and enhancement suggestions using the online links for such things. It doesn't take effort to follow the correct process. So far all I see in this thread is useless spam.

Actually, IMHO, this thread is far from useless spam.

It communicates issues with the product to other users, thus saving them reinvestigating (or re-reporting) the wheel.
It allows other user the opportunity to comment on issues, either expanding on the knowledge, providing a work around, or explaining the issue.
It informs other users about what bugs have been reported (apropos your comment about visibility into the Sparx problem tracker ([1 (http://www.sparxsystems.com/cgi-bin/yabb/YaBB.cgi?num=1256855473/0#0)] [2 (http://www.sparxsystems.com/cgi-bin/yabb/YaBB.cgi?num=1277671922/0#0)] [3 (http://www.sparxsystems.com/cgi-bin/yabb/YaBB.cgi?num=1105018722/0#0)])) and sometimes even what the response was.

You are correct that it doesn't take much effort to use the links to report issues.
It does take effort and time to report in a useful way that allows the issue to be recreated (don't get me started on the lack of "phone home (http://www.sparxsystems.com/cgi-bin/yabb/YaBB.cgi?num=1265316804)" functionality), and to contribute to the forum.

I always reference these forums when reporting bugs or requesting features, because the discussion may inform Sparx, even after the request has been made.

PS Compliments on your contributions to the forums
PPS Posting to the forum is insufficient, issues and feature requests must be reported using the support (http://www.sparxsystems.com/support/index.html) links below
Title: Re: EA 9 Beta
Post by: Geert Bellekens on May 13, 2011, 04:53:28 pm
Quote
(yip, my company wouldn't buy a license so I had to pay out of my own pocket, sad indeed. but I'll get over it)
  :'(

Maybe an indication its time to update your CV, if your company is that cheap...

Geert

PS. Lucky you didn't have to by any Rational product out of your pocket :o
Title: Re: EA 9 Beta
Post by: EeJay on May 13, 2011, 05:53:02 pm
Cheap they are but my master plan is to show them how fantastically brilliant this product is and how we can benefit from it so that they upgrade to enterprise license.

Our developers have dev boxes that are more powerful than the production servers but the analysts can't get a license for a critical piece of software. sigh, we are so under appreciated.   :-[

Title: Re: EA 9 Beta
Post by: EeJay on May 13, 2011, 05:56:02 pm
er thanks skiwi, but I think Sparx have blocked me from submitting suggestions and bugs because I use those links so often.

So don't worry, our goal is the same, to get the product to do what it should do for the people that are doing things with it in the best, most accurate and fastest way possible.   ;)
Title: Re: EA 9 Beta
Post by: Thelonius on May 13, 2011, 06:20:11 pm
Quote
...but I think Sparx have blocked me from submitting suggestions and bugs because I use those links so often.

Wow. If that's true... ::)
Title: Re: EA 9 Beta
Post by: EeJay on May 13, 2011, 07:59:51 pm
Lol no (as far as I know)   :P
Title: Re: EA 9 Beta Unicode "Search STring Parameters"
Post by: skiwi on May 26, 2011, 02:42:28 pm
There is a find for Notes which is great, but It also doesn't know about unicode (906)
(http://i306.photobucket.com/albums/nn245/copperkiwi/Sparx/SearchStringParameters_2011-05-26_16-39-06.jpg)