Sparx Systems Forum

Discussion => Uml Process => Topic started by: Polymorph on October 14, 2016, 09:21:36 pm

Title: Message Attributes on sequence diagrams
Post by: Polymorph on October 14, 2016, 09:21:36 pm
I have a «Signal» element that has an attribute defined

I want to create a a sequence diagram which shows this signal being sent from one lifeline to another, so I have created a message between the two, double-clicked on it, changed the type to asynchronous | signal and using the dialogue box, navigated to the appropriate model element. Once done, EA will auto-populate the "Attributes" section of the message dialogue box with the name of the signal attribute (helpful!)

However, if I subsequently update the name of the attribute of the signal, the sequence diagram attribute does not automatically update (less helpful)

Does anyone know if there is a way to get EA to refresh the attribute names on a sequence diagram. I have already tried reloading it and that doesn't do the trick  ???
Title: Re: Message Attributes on sequence diagrams
Post by: Geert Bellekens on October 14, 2016, 09:58:42 pm
Often you have to re-open the message and reselect the element to make it refresh.

Geert
Title: Re: Message Attributes on sequence diagrams
Post by: qwerty on October 14, 2016, 10:56:38 pm
I guess they are disconnected. Only operation names get updated somehow (though they are also only strings but EA recognizes them somehow by black magic).

q.
Title: Re: Message Attributes on sequence diagrams
Post by: Polymorph on October 14, 2016, 11:53:07 pm
Yes, I discovered that re-opening the message updates the name. But I've got a lot of sequence diagrams!
Title: Re: Message Attributes on sequence diagrams
Post by: Slávek Rydval on November 01, 2016, 07:55:40 am
Polymorph, use reopening only for open diagrams, if needed. The change is made in model so every other diagram, if opened later on, will be correct.