Sparx Systems Forum

Discussion => General Board => Topic started by: Rich Anderson on December 13, 2017, 08:06:45 am

Title: UI Suggestion - Option to Locate on Current Diagram
Post by: Rich Anderson on December 13, 2017, 08:06:45 am
I think it would be really good to have this checkbox inserted on this dialog.  Sometimes, my diagrams get quite big and I forget that I have already placed an element there.  Then I have to go through several clicks to locate it.   Why not just do this?

(https://image.ibb.co/hn8aqG/EA_Dialog.png)

Title: Re: UI Suggestion - Option to Locate on Current Diagram
Post by: qwerty on December 13, 2017, 08:18:32 am
I guess, it should be a button (to locate and dismiss the dialog), rather than a check box. But else: +1

q.
Title: Re: UI Suggestion - Option to Locate on Current Diagram
Post by: VKN on December 13, 2017, 09:52:10 am
Then I have to go through several clicks to locate it.
No need. Just do CTRL+U while the element is selected in the project browser.
Title: Re: UI Suggestion - Option to Locate on Current Diagram
Post by: Paolo F Cantoni on December 13, 2017, 11:03:05 am
Then I have to go through several clicks to locate it.
No need. Just do CTRL+U while the element is selected in the project browser.
If the item is on 25 diagrams, Ctrl+U is more difficult, besides, I don't believe that's answering Rich's problem.

The problem occurs when pasting the element that already exists on the diagram.

BTW Rich, if pasting a number of elements, dismissing the dialog also dismisses the REST of the pasting set, yes?

Paolo

(oh, and +1)
Title: Re: UI Suggestion - Option to Locate on Current Diagram
Post by: VKN on December 13, 2017, 12:03:55 pm
If the item is on 25 diagrams, Ctrl+U is more difficult, besides, I don't believe that's answering Rich's problem.
The problem occurs when pasting the element that already exists on the diagram.
The existing solution to that is to right click on the element in the project browser and select Locate in Current Diagram
Title: Re: UI Suggestion - Option to Locate on Current Diagram
Post by: Rich Anderson on December 13, 2017, 03:40:06 pm
Then I have to go through several clicks to locate it.
No need. Just do CTRL+U while the element is selected in the project browser.

Thanks for the suggestion, but in my case, I'm trying to drag elements in from a search result.  In that case, I have to first locate the element in the project browser, make sure the large diagram has focus, and then select "Locate in Diagram".   It would be easier to just do it from the modal window, whether or not it is a separate button or a checkbox as suggested elsewhere in this thread (I'm pretty relaxed about that part).