Sparx Systems Forum

Enterprise Architect => General Board => Topic started by: Richard Freggi on July 24, 2017, 08:56:09 pm

Title: EA 13 does not have a database front end?
Post by: Richard Freggi on July 24, 2017, 08:56:09 pm
Hello I am still new to Sparx EA (using build 13.10) and I would just like to confirm my understanding that EA (Data Modeling MDG) does not provide a simple frontend for databases for things like loading test datasets and testing queries during query development.
I can connect to the database (SQLite) with OBDC and do forward/reverse engineering, so I expected that a simple frontend would be integrated in EA... but I can' t find anything on the user manual or web.  Just wanted to double check if I missed anything before I turn to SQLiteman or something similar (I would prefer not to switch between several tools).
Thanks!


Title: Re: EA 13 does not have a database front end?
Post by: qwerty on July 25, 2017, 02:29:11 am
I guess the simple answer is: EA is not ERWIN. I have no idea if it helps, but others recommended DBMode (an EA add-in) to assist you with databases.

q.
Title: Re: EA 13 does not have a database front end?
Post by: Helmut Ortmann on July 26, 2017, 12:25:33 am
Hello,

have you looked into the EA Database Builder?
- http://sparxsystems.com/enterprise_architect_user_guide/13.5/guidebooks/tools_ba_database_builder.html (http://sparxsystems.com/enterprise_architect_user_guide/13.5/guidebooks/tools_ba_database_builder.html)
- http://www.sparxsystems.com/resources/user-guides/model-domains/database-models.pdf (http://www.sparxsystems.com/resources/user-guides/model-domains/database-models.pdf)

Kind regards,

Helmut
Title: Re: EA 13 does not have a database front end?
Post by: Richard Freggi on July 26, 2017, 11:37:57 am
Thank you Helmut and QWERTY.  Your answers helped me realize that the database builder / query developer is available from CORPORATE version and up... and I have PROFESSIONAL version!!!  So back to using SQLiteman...