Sparx Systems Forum

Enterprise Architect => General Board => Topic started by: NikoWenz on May 09, 2018, 07:21:39 pm

Title: Enable Properties Checkbox after changing UML Class to SysML Block
Post by: NikoWenz on May 09, 2018, 07:21:39 pm
Hello Forum,

I had imported an XMI project into EA. The blocks are normal UML classes, but I need SysML Blocks.

I did it in the way suggested in http://sparxsystems.com/forums/smf/index.php?topic=30311.0 (http://sparxsystems.com/forums/smf/index.php?topic=30311.0)
Quote
"You can simply drag the SysML block stereotype from the toolbox onto a diagram object (as long as it's a Class). When asked, choose "Apply"."

Now I want do display the properties. But the Properties Checkbox still doesnt show in the Feature and Compartment Visibilty like in a newly created SysML Block.

Does anyone know how to manually activate this Properties checkbox?


Nikolas
Title: Re: Enable Properties Checkbox after changing UML Class to SysML Block
Post by: Nabil on May 09, 2018, 07:40:06 pm
First thing have you enabled SysML technology in EA?
Check here Configure | Manage | Technologies

Title: Re: Enable Properties Checkbox after changing UML Class to SysML Block
Post by: NikoWenz on May 09, 2018, 08:01:19 pm
Yes every Technology in the mange window is enabled (SysML 1.1, 1.2, 1.3, 1.4)
Title: Re: Enable Properties Checkbox after changing UML Class to SysML Block
Post by: Nabil on May 09, 2018, 08:29:21 pm
AFAIK Properties check box(From Compartment Visiblity) will be shown only when the element has a property


BR
Nabil
Title: Re: Enable Properties Checkbox after changing UML Class to SysML Block
Post by: NikoWenz on May 09, 2018, 08:39:38 pm
The Origin UML Class has one property after the import, then i changed the UML Class to a SysML Block.
The Checkbox isnt shown.
Then i add a new Property to the block and still the Checkbox isnt shown.

With a newly created Block this option works.
If I drag a Block out of the SysML 1.4 Toolbox to the diagram and add a new property the checkbox shows in the Feature and Compartment Visiblity and i can show or hide the Properties.
Title: Re: Enable Properties Checkbox after changing UML Class to SysML Block
Post by: NikoWenz on May 16, 2018, 06:12:23 pm
Does someone has another idea how to solve my problem?
And is there any rule in this forum for pushing posts?

I hope waiting one week is alright


Nikolas
Title: Re: Enable Properties Checkbox after changing UML Class to SysML Block
Post by: NikoWenz on May 16, 2018, 06:49:35 pm
In Addition I made a test with a UML Class out of the Toolbox and adapting the SysML behavior via Drag and Drop and there the checkbox is shown, but still when I do this with the imported UML Class it doesnt work...
Title: Re: Enable Properties Checkbox after changing UML Class to SysML Block
Post by: Nizam on May 16, 2018, 07:31:05 pm
Just to reconfirm, have you tried
1. removing the stereotype (open properties dialog cut / delete the stereotype), apply okay and reapplying stereotype on one of the imported items. Does it behave as a SysML block?
2. Have you tried 'Synchronize Stereotype' after import

And yes, the forum is voluntary, best is to write to support@sparxsystems.com to get formal support.
Title: Re: Enable Properties Checkbox after changing UML Class to SysML Block
Post by: NikoWenz on May 16, 2018, 07:58:23 pm
Thank you Nizam and all other Replys,

Seems like removing the stereotype is good solution  :)

I am not sure how to use the Synchronize option exactly, so maybe it is also a suitable solution, if done right.

You think its worth reporting that as a bug or is it intended that the stereotype needs to be removed before it works correctly?

Title: Re: Enable Properties Checkbox after changing UML Class to SysML Block
Post by: Nizam on May 16, 2018, 08:27:30 pm
I guess this could be because more than one version of SysML is enabled, and the FQ stereotype is pointing is confused.
If this was done through Excel import or other options, i'd have suggested we try al the workarounds (Synchronize Stereotype can be done if you right click on the Block item in the toolbox)
but because you are doing it with XMI import EA must handle it right.  I suggest you report this

however, i'd also suggest you to try disabling all other SysML versions except the one you are using and then try to do the import
Title: Re: Enable Properties Checkbox after changing UML Class to SysML Block
Post by: Geert Bellekens on May 16, 2018, 08:51:15 pm
Yes every Technology in the mange window is enabled (SysML 1.1, 1.2, 1.3, 1.4)
NOOOooo!!!  :o :o
You'll confuse the hell out of EA that way. You'll get a mix of all different version of SysML.
You should only enable the technologies you are actually using (and certainly never enable multiple versions of the same language at the same time).

Geert
Title: Re: Enable Properties Checkbox after changing UML Class to SysML Block
Post by: Sunshine on May 16, 2018, 08:56:33 pm
Yes every Technology in the mange window is enabled (SysML 1.1, 1.2, 1.3, 1.4)
NOOOooo!!!  :o :o
You'll confuse the hell out of EA that way. You'll get a mix of all different version of SysML.
You should only enable the technologies you are actually using (and certainly never enable multiple versions of the same language at the same time).

Geert
I couldn't agree more. It violates that basic principle of KISS. Keep It Simple St....
Title: Re: Enable Properties Checkbox after changing UML Class to SysML Block
Post by: NikoWenz on May 16, 2018, 10:45:47 pm
Ok the different technologies mixed up seems to be the root of my Problem now the import is already configured right

ty all for the replies