Sparx Systems Forum

Enterprise Architect => General Board => Topic started by: KONIKPK on February 01, 2019, 03:45:40 am

Title: Silent install and configuration of client
Post by: KONIKPK on February 01, 2019, 03:45:40 am
Hi all

we deploying EA.
Now I have installed Key Store. I have added keys. Configure to AD authentification to group.
Now I need to deploy client by SCCM with configured settings. Automatically connect to keystore get licencce atc atc.
Only thing i find is ea.ini where i put
"SKT"=dword:00000001
"SSKSAddress"="ssks://keystore"
"SSKSPassword"=""

But when i start EA say there is no licence http://prntscr.com/meudc8 (http://prntscr.com/meudc8)
I must go to Yes an add shared licence key.
But after i close EA i must do this again it dont remember settings.

I need deploy full configured EA. User stat EA and dont need nothing to configure.

HELP PLEASE
Title: Re: Silent install and configuration of client
Post by: Geert Bellekens on February 01, 2019, 03:51:54 am
There's a whitepaper about silent deployment available on the sparx website.
That contains the details on how to configure the installation of the client software.

Geert
Title: Re: Silent install and configuration of client
Post by: KONIKPK on February 01, 2019, 06:49:13 pm
What about link ?
Title: Re: Silent install and configuration of client
Post by: KONIKPK on February 01, 2019, 07:51:52 pm
There's a whitepaper about silent deployment available on the sparx website.
That contains the details on how to configure the installation of the client software.

Geert

OK i find white paper but this is peace of .....
https://sparxsystems.com/downloads/whitepapers/EA_Deployment.pdf
Its from 2014 OMFG 4 years old and not working of course i make

2. Example registry settings for the service based keystore:
[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Sparx Systems\EA400\EA\OPTIONS]
"SKT"=dword:00000001
"SSKSAddress"="ssks://pathToKeystoreService"
"SSKSPassword"="service password (encrypted)"
"AutoCheckoutEx"=hex:1a,00,00,00


But this is not working. When ea.ini is exist in root folder it always ask for licence.
I need configure ea.ini to working with all users existing or new .
Title: Re: Silent install and configuration of client
Post by: KONIKPK on February 01, 2019, 09:13:50 pm
OK if some one need this :

Create ea.ini int C:\Program Files (x86)\Sparx Systems\EA\ with this

"SKT"=dword:00000001
"SSKSAddress"="ssks://keystoreserver"
"SSKSPassword"=""
"AutoCheckoutEx"=hex:02,00,00,00
"AutoCheckoutMigration"=dword:00000353
"SSKSDisplayAddress"="ssks://keystoreserver"

bold is important.
Title: Re: Silent install and configuration of client
Post by: Dergib on September 25, 2019, 02:03:25 pm
Just signed up so I can comment and say thanks this worked nicely for me. I created the ini file and dropped into the folder as mentioned.
Title: Re: Silent install and configuration of client
Post by: Typia on October 09, 2019, 01:17:46 am
Hi,
is there any way to include activation key ?
15.0 asks for it at first launch.
Title: Re: Silent install and configuration of client
Post by: Aaron B on October 09, 2019, 09:43:50 am
Hi Typia,

No, unfortunately we don't support automating entry of the Activation Code at this time (EA 14+). It needs to be entered manually.
Title: Re: Silent install and configuration of client
Post by: Typia on October 10, 2019, 07:03:42 pm
Hi Typia,

No, unfortunately we don't support automating entry of the Activation Code at this time (EA 14+). It needs to be entered manually.

So bad ..

we use a floating key and thus have to communicate the activation key to every user.

We didn't have this issue in v12 .. :(
Title: Re: Silent install and configuration of client
Post by: PeterHeintz on October 10, 2019, 11:41:44 pm
Yes it is bad  :'( :'( :'( :'( :'(
Title: Re: Silent install and configuration of client
Post by: Typia on October 10, 2019, 11:46:33 pm
Just to add to the discussion,
during our upgrade tests, upgrade to latest V14.1 from v12 didn't trigger the activation windows, neither did the earliest v15 versions.
Title: Re: Silent install and configuration of client
Post by: PeterHeintz on October 11, 2019, 12:50:56 am
I am sure it did. However once you have done and you install a new build on the same machine you are not asked anymore. You have to consider as well that the key expires somehow.

To by honest I do not see any reason and purpose wy this key is needed.
Title: Re: Silent install and configuration of client
Post by: steen.jensen on October 11, 2019, 07:43:27 am
All settings can be made in register at ea400.xx
Make one master install with all needed mdg, workspace settings etc etc
then use whole ea instal folders and copy all ea400.xx settings.
Use those with sccm and the rest of ea package as normal sccm package.

We have used that from EA12, EA13.1, EA 14.1 with no problem (Corporate Floating and SQL DB with several  repositories)
Is going to do that with EA15 when there is some EA15.1 version as we did with EA14.1 
To many bugs and problems with EA 14.0 and suspects the same with EA 15.0
I.e (Archimate, Quick links, Report generation etc etc)
Title: Re: Silent install and configuration of client
Post by: Typia on October 12, 2019, 01:08:48 am
All settings can be made in register at ea400.xx
Make one master install with all needed mdg, workspace settings etc etc
then use whole ea instal folders and copy all ea400.xx settings.
Use those with sccm and the rest of ea package as normal sccm package.

We have used that from EA12, EA13.1, EA 14.1 with no problem (Corporate Floating and SQL DB with several  repositories)
Is going to do that with EA15 when there is some EA15.1 version as we did with EA14.1 
To many bugs and problems with EA 14.0 and suspects the same with EA 15.0
I.e (Archimate, Quick links, Report generation etc etc)

Could you elaborate please ?
until now we used reg key to add ssks server but we had to chose the license server and had the floating key manually.
Now with this ea.ini solution everything is settled, floating key is already registered, but still have to put the activation key ..
Title: Re: Silent install and configuration of client
Post by: steen.jensen on October 12, 2019, 03:16:23 am
Make a komplete installation that works with all your needed settings and then check the Registry /Sparx Systems/ with /EA400 /EAAddins and /SSKeyStore
There you have all keys, Activation code , Licens server etc etc
Title: Re: Silent install and configuration of client
Post by: Typia on October 16, 2019, 07:55:58 pm
Make a komplete installation that works with all your needed settings and then check the Registry /Sparx Systems/ with /EA400 /EAAddins and /SSKeyStore
There you have all keys, Activation code , Licens server etc etc

Thanks for your answer.

I'm pretty lost, just tried to uninstall EA 15, removed sparx systems reg key, removed program files (x86) folder to try to check out where those settings are.
Restarted the computer and reinstalled and all was still in : floating key registered, activation done, and even last projects

where are those settings stored ?
Title: Re: Silent install and configuration of client
Post by: Geert Bellekens on October 16, 2019, 07:58:50 pm
There's also a part in the %Appdata%\Sparx Systems\ you might want to delete.

Geert
Title: Re: Silent install and configuration of client
Post by: Typia on October 16, 2019, 10:18:30 pm
There's also a part in the %Appdata%\Sparx Systems\ you might want to delete.

Geert

tired it also, restarted, reinstalled ..
still configured ..
Title: Re: Silent install and configuration of client
Post by: Typia on April 14, 2020, 04:37:32 am
Hi guys,
coming back on this topic.
Still no way to bypass the activation screen for unattend / silent install ?

Is ea.ini the recommended way or should I go back to reg file as in this whitepaper dated from 2014

https://sparxsystems.com/downloads/whitepapers/EA_Deployment.pdf

Many thanks !
Title: Re: Silent install and configuration of client
Post by: Typia on April 23, 2020, 03:20:31 am
Hi,
sorry to push it again but I'm planning a mass deployment soon.
Any EA guru to help ?

Many thanks
Title: Re: Silent install and configuration of client
Post by: qwerty on April 23, 2020, 04:37:54 am
Yeah. Make good friends among the admins.

May sound silly, but that's actually the best you can do with EA (speaking from experience).

q.
Title: Re: Silent install and configuration of client
Post by: steen.jensen on April 23, 2020, 07:01:36 am
Hmm Sorry but as I wrote before. In my Enterprice I just put the Sparx install msi packet to my Software SCCM packet group. They installed it, configurer it with SQL-database, Activation key, Floating licensserver, some menu & workspace configuration.
Then the SCCM-tools they used gave them all RegKeys that where affected and any files in usr/Appdata etc.
All of that was ouer SCCM packet as any other software that is used för SCCM distribution. We have about 800 diffrent sw-packages for about 35.000 users so the guys know how to configure any software and they say that Sparx EA was easy cake. :)
So let the SCCM & msi guys do the work they can bests and let the Architect do the Architectural work :)
Title: Re: Silent install and configuration of client
Post by: Typia on April 24, 2020, 07:22:02 am
Make a komplete installation that works with all your needed settings and then check the Registry /Sparx Systems/ with /EA400 /EAAddins and /SSKeyStore
There you have all keys, Activation code , Licens server etc etc

Hi,
first of all many thanks and sorry if it's not admin friendly to push the topic :/

as I stated before, when using reg, users have to confirm their ssks server on my side.

When using the .ini, activation key is required, and I also noticed that if by any way you want to change the key server in the interface (by using register menu) it's not saved when you restart EA, and only way is to modify ini file which I don't want users to make ..

Title: Re: Silent install and configuration of client
Post by: Geert Bellekens on April 24, 2020, 01:30:33 pm
You must have a problem with the installation.

You can set the license server both in the ini file as in the registry.
And if a user fills it in using the GUI it should be saved in the registry so the user doesn't have to fill it in again.

The activation is always required, but only once per user.

Geert
Title: Re: Silent install and configuration of client
Post by: Uffe on April 24, 2020, 07:19:17 pm
Dicking around with the registry outside what the installer does is less straightforward than it might first appear, and I'm not sure that the process outlined in the old white paper is even properly tested (you may note that the same white paper flatly states that an EA project stored in a DBMS repository cannot be corrupted, so that's your baseline level of trustworthiness right there).

In particular, it should be noted that a from-scratch install and an upgrade are not the same case. It should also be noted that HKCU\Software\Sparx Systems\ is not populated by the installer but by EA on first start.

Finally, there's no reason why having a customized installer write anything into HKCU should have any effect on end users.
Title: Re: Silent install and configuration of client
Post by: steen.jensen on April 24, 2020, 07:22:18 pm
Hmm Strange.
We only put in Activation code when we make the 1:a Installation in a virtualdesktop and from that installation we make the SCCM sw distribution pagage for all ouer users and No One have ever asked me of the Activation Code. Of ouer 50 users about 15 is new user that should have needed the activation code if manual install.
Title: Re: Silent install and configuration of client
Post by: Uffe on April 24, 2020, 09:23:20 pm
We only put in Activation code when we make the 1:a Installation in a virtualdesktop and from that installation we make the SCCM sw distribution pagage for all ouer users and No One have ever asked me of the Activation Code. Of ouer 50 users about 15 is new user that should have needed the activation code if manual install.
If you're cloning a completed install from a VM (or a physical machine for that matter) it works just fine. The key word is "completed."

The EA installer writes its registry stuff into HKU\.DEFAULT (aka HKU\S-1-5-18)1 and the client then copies it out of there to HKCU\Whoever on first start. Then any settings the user changes get written to HKCU.
If you look at HKU\.DEFAULT\Software\Sparx Systems\EA400\EA\OPTIONS, you'll see it only has a very small number of values compared to what's in HKCU. Things like recent files are only in HKCU, which makes sense, while things like the license file/server are in HKU\.DEFAULT, which also makes sense. You'll find ActivationCode in HKU\.DEFAULT as well (in Settings, not OPTIONS).

But since the license reference and activation code aren't set during install, it appears that the EA client does a bit of writing to HKU\.DEFAULT as well. Hence the need to start EA up once to complete the install.

The white paper recommends distributing HKCU data (though it doesn't specifically mention the activation code), and you can do that but it will only work for the logged-in user. On a shared machine, each user has to import HKCU data separately. (Although since the EA client writes back to HKU\.DEFAULT you might not actually have to, provided you start EA once after doing the registry import -- but I haven't checked that.)

So for a mass deployment you want to make sure HKU\.DEFAULT has got the goods. Best way to do that is to take a clean machine, do an install, start the tool, enter the activation code and shared license details if you use those (maybe the support link and other bits and bobs if you like), then clone it and distribute with your tool of choice.

first of all many thanks and sorry if it's not admin friendly to push the topic :/
No you're alright, Q just meant that you should always be friends with your IT admins, especially when dealing with EA which has a few quirks (proprietary license mechanisms is just one of those things IT hate for no better reason than because it makes their job harder).
Quote
as I stated before, when using reg, users have to confirm their ssks server on my side.
Possibly if the users import the registry data before starting EA for the first time, EA ignores what's in HKCU and overwrites it because it checks for the presence some other registry value than the ones you've created, doesn't find it and goes wallop.
Quote
When using the .ini, activation key is required
There's nothing in the white paper about the activation code (pretty sure the white paper predates the activation thing, which EA only introduced a few versions ago), so if you've followed that to the letter it's not surprising that users have to activate manually.

The .ini file referred to in this thread is just a registry export, so it doesn't make sens to speak of the .ini file on the one hand and the registry on the other. The .file is just so you don't have to edit the registry manually. Please clarify if I'm not understanding.

If you want to use a registry (.ini) file, make sure it includes EA\Settings\ActivationCode and EA\Settings\ActivationDate.
Quote
and I also noticed that if by any way you want to change the key server in the interface (by using register menu) it's not saved when you restart EA, and only way is to modify ini file which I don't want users to make ..
This is interesting, and seems to imply that EA doesn't write those changes back to HKU\.DEFAULT. As I said, the best way to resolve everything is to do a clean install and distribution with a proper tool (eg MS ECM/SCCM), and not to piddle about with registry files. Way too error-prone.

HTH,


/Uffe


1 This is poor design. EA writes to HKU\.DEFAULT, but that's actually not the right place for this data.
HKEY_USERS\.DEFAULT is not "default stuff for all users" but "stuff for the default user" which (poor design on Microsoft's part) is in fact the Local System account, aka S-1-5-18.
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE, "default stuff for all users on this machine", is where this data should go.
Title: Re: Silent install and configuration of client
Post by: Geert Bellekens on April 24, 2020, 09:38:21 pm
Uffe,

I'm not sure if you should dismiss the .ini file like that.

If you put a file with the name ea.ini in EA's program files folder, you can use that to set a number of things such as the license server details.
In case of a remote desktop setup (where you only have one installation of EA for the whole user base) that is actually a pretty easy way of getting things done without having to mess about in the registry.

That is different of course if you want to install EA on a bunch of workstations.

Geert
Title: Re: Silent install and configuration of client
Post by: Typia on April 24, 2020, 09:48:00 pm
@Uffe,
ini file isn't a registry export, it's an ini file which is located in ea program folder.

@Geert,

I just tried again.
When an ssks server is specified in the ini file, no matter if you change it in the interface, when you restart EA it gets back the one from ini file.
Title: Re: Silent install and configuration of client
Post by: Uffe on April 24, 2020, 09:55:48 pm
If you put a file with the name ea.ini in EA's program files folder, you can use that to set a number of things such as the license server details.
Really? I had no idea.  ;D
I was looking in the deployment white paper, where there is of course no mention of this mechanism.

But it has been around since at least 13.0 as I can now see, although I'd still classify it as a hack. Officially supported, but a hack.
And it's not "zero configuration" if you have to create a configuration file and add it to your installation.  >:(
Title: Re: Silent install and configuration of client
Post by: Geert Bellekens on April 24, 2020, 09:56:26 pm
@Geert,

I just tried again.
When an ssks server is specified in the ini file, no matter if you change it in the interface, when you restart EA it gets back the one from ini file.
That makes sense.
If you change the license server in the GUI, it get written to the registry.
And since the ini has preference over the registry, the registry entry gets ignored.

Geert
Title: Re: Silent install and configuration of client
Post by: Uffe on April 24, 2020, 09:58:01 pm
When an ssks server is specified in the ini file, no matter if you change it in the interface, when you restart EA it gets back the one from ini file.
That's what it's supposed to do. If the file exists, it reads it and its settings override what might be in the registry.
(Says the guy who learned about this mechanism literally five minutes ago.  8)  )

So to change anything you have to modify the file that you've installed on all users' machines.
Title: Re: Silent install and configuration of client
Post by: Geert Bellekens on April 24, 2020, 10:00:08 pm
If you put a file with the name ea.ini in EA's program files folder, you can use that to set a number of things such as the license server details.
Really? I had no idea.  ;D
I was looking in the deployment white paper, where there is of course no mention of this mechanism.

But it has been around since at least 13.0 as I can now see, although I'd still classify it as a hack. Officially supported, but a hack.
And it's not "zero configuration" if you have to create a configuration file and add it to your installation.  >:(
I would definitely not call it "zero configuration", but for my use case (remote desktop setup) is was a practical way of setting thing up for everyone.

Geert
Title: Re: Silent install and configuration of client
Post by: Uffe on April 24, 2020, 10:00:52 pm
Put another way, ea.ini allows you to control certain settings so the user can't change them.

But if you want to provide some initial settings and then allow users to change them, ea.ini doesn't work.
Title: Re: Silent install and configuration of client
Post by: Eve on April 27, 2020, 07:50:49 am
And it's not "zero configuration" if you have to create a configuration file and add it to your installation.  >:(
Zero configuration for each client, when run from a shared folder.

Put another way, ea.ini allows you to control certain settings so the user can't change them.

But if you want to provide some initial settings and then allow users to change them, ea.ini doesn't work.
There's an example of how to do that in the help.

https://www.sparxsystems.com/enterprise_architect_user_guide/15.1/product_information/zero_config_support.html (https://www.sparxsystems.com/enterprise_architect_user_guide/15.1/product_information/zero_config_support.html)

Quote
Defaults can be configured by placing them after a registry key of the form "INIFILE_VERSION"=dword:00000043; these will only be executed when the existing value for this user is not the same value as the one in the file

Quote
first time this example is run it checks out an Ultimate key, but allows the user to request a different key on subsequent logins.

Code: [Select]
"JET4"=dword:00000001
 "SKT"=dword:00000001
 "SSKSAddress"="ssks://licenseserver"
 "SSKSPassword"=""
 "INIFILE_VERSION"=dword:00000043
 "AutoCheckoutEx"=hex:1a,00,00,00
Title: Re: Silent install and configuration of client
Post by: Typia on April 29, 2020, 07:33:46 pm
Hi Eve,
thanks for your reply.
We already use the ini file in our sccm deployment.
Problem is that users still have to input the activation key on install, which confuses them because in previous version they didn't have to make it.
It's impacting because we have to set up a wide communication to give them the activation key, and obviously we receive mails from users who don't read communications ..


And it's not "zero configuration" if you have to create a configuration file and add it to your installation.  >:(
Zero configuration for each client, when run from a shared folder.

Put another way, ea.ini allows you to control certain settings so the user can't change them.

But if you want to provide some initial settings and then allow users to change them, ea.ini doesn't work.
There's an example of how to do that in the help.

https://www.sparxsystems.com/enterprise_architect_user_guide/15.1/product_information/zero_config_support.html (https://www.sparxsystems.com/enterprise_architect_user_guide/15.1/product_information/zero_config_support.html)

Quote
Defaults can be configured by placing them after a registry key of the form "INIFILE_VERSION"=dword:00000043; these will only be executed when the existing value for this user is not the same value as the one in the file

Quote
first time this example is run it checks out an Ultimate key, but allows the user to request a different key on subsequent logins.

Code: [Select]
"JET4"=dword:00000001
 "SKT"=dword:00000001
 "SSKSAddress"="ssks://licenseserver"
 "SSKSPassword"=""
 "INIFILE_VERSION"=dword:00000043
 "AutoCheckoutEx"=hex:1a,00,00,00