Sparx Systems Forum

Enterprise Architect => General Board => Topic started by: benem on July 21, 2020, 07:12:55 pm

Title: Notes in requirements diagram
Post by: benem on July 21, 2020, 07:12:55 pm
Hello.
I have a problem with the requirement diagram.
Every time I create a new requirement in the diagram, the symbol includes the name and the note.

Anyway, if I delete the note contents, the lower part in the symbol disappears and never reappears even if I write something again in the note.

I cannot find a way to show the note again other than recreate the symbol. The not is shown if I choose rectangle view but this is inconsistent with the rest of the diagram (unless I change everything in rectangle view that I don't like).

The same problem happens if I toggle from normal view to rectangle view and back. When I toggle to normal view, the notes doesn't reappears.

Thanks.


Title: Re: Notes in requirements diagram
Post by: qwerty on July 21, 2020, 07:43:46 pm
Which kind of requirement do you create? From which MDG?

q.
Title: Re: Notes in requirements diagram
Post by: PeterHeintz on July 21, 2020, 10:25:59 pm
Among other things you can control the visibility of notes on diagram or elements level.
To control the visibility on diagram levels, go to the diagram properties select “Elements” and check or uncheck under “Show Compartments”  “Notes”.
To control the visibility on element levels, select the element in the diagram press “Shift” & “Strg” & “y” to open the “Compartment Visibility” dialog and check or uncheck “Notes”.
Title: Re: Notes in requirements diagram
Post by: benem on July 22, 2020, 01:43:00 am
Among other things you can control the visibility of notes on diagram or elements level.
To control the visibility on diagram levels, go to the diagram properties select “Elements” and check or uncheck under “Show Compartments”  “Notes”.
To control the visibility on element levels, select the element in the diagram press “Shift” & “Strg” & “y” to open the “Compartment Visibility” dialog and check or uncheck “Notes”.

Thank you for your answer. Unfortunately none of those works. At this point I start to think that it is a bug. There is two way for an element to don't show the notes anymore:
Delete the notes and try to reinsert,
toggle the element in rectangle mode and back.

If I create a new element, initially doesn't have the notes. As soon as I put something in there, the notes appears on the diagram.

Unfortunately I cannot attach images in the forum to show you the problem.
Title: Re: Notes in requirements diagram
Post by: benem on July 22, 2020, 01:45:22 am
Which kind of requirement do you create? From which MDG?

q.

How can tell you? I create the diagram using the wizard called Two Level Requirement Hierarchy. And both modify the element put by the wizard or add new element from the toolbox.
Title: Re: Notes in requirements diagram
Post by: qwerty on July 22, 2020, 06:10:08 am
The MDG name is written as title above in the wizard dialogue.

q.
Title: Re: Notes in requirements diagram
Post by: benem on July 22, 2020, 06:35:47 pm
The MDG name is written as title above in the wizard dialogue.


Those are the steps to reproduce it:


In the dialog...


Add notes to Dialog Element Properties (non needed if you create the requirement diagram from wizard):


Create a requirement symbol:


Now you should see the notes compartment with the note you have written.


the symbol changes its shape with the notes shown.


the symbol shapes returns to the original but there isn't the notes and, from this point it is impossible to have back in the diagram using normal notation, Only in rectangular one.

Thanks
Title: Re: Notes in requirements diagram
Post by: qwerty on July 22, 2020, 08:46:11 pm
Nope. The notes are still visible. Maybe you should contact Sparx support via mail.

Maybe you should run a consistency check once.

Also look for any MDGs/add-ins and turn them off to see if one of them causes the trouble.

q.
Title: Re: Notes in requirements diagram
Post by: benem on July 23, 2020, 11:11:26 pm
Nope. The notes are still visible. Maybe you should contact Sparx support via mail.

Maybe you should run a consistency check once.

Also look for any MDGs/add-ins and turn them off to see if one of them causes the trouble.

q.

Thank you for answer. I'll contact the support soon.
In meantime I've found a workaround. Delete the element from the diagram and put it back dragging from browser.