Author Topic: Generate DDL Error - DEFAULT NOT NULL  (Read 1497 times)

Ian_Robinson

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • I love YaBB 1G - SP1!
    • View Profile
Generate DDL Error - DEFAULT NOT NULL
« on: March 30, 2005, 08:57:11 am »
Hi ,
Im running  build 750, and my DLL generation now outputs a   "DEFAULT NOT NULL"  - if i have set the column property to NO NULL.

This is not how is used to work, and i cant seem to switch  this off.

E.g.  my table DDL looks like this

CREATE TABLE Manufacturer (
   ManufacturerId VARCHAR(40) DEFAULT  NOT NULL,
   ManufacturerName VARCHAR(50) DEFAULT  NOT NULL,
   ManufacturerCountry VARCHAR(20) DEFAULT ,
   ManufacturersWebsite VARCHAR(255) DEFAULT
)
;

Also if i set the comment level to = "None", it still outputs

COMMENT ON TABLE Manufacturer
   IS 'Switch Manaufacturers'
;

Regards


ololett

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • I love YaBB 1G - SP1!
    • View Profile
Re: Generate DDL Error - DEFAULT NOT NULL
« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2005, 05:26:37 am »
Hi Ian

How could you generate the ddl?. I have the problem that i can't see the 'Generate ddl ...' when i activate the table in the diagram an rightclick on it.

Best regards
Martin

Ian_Robinson

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • I love YaBB 1G - SP1!
    • View Profile
Re: Generate DDL Error - DEFAULT NOT NULL
« Reply #2 on: April 01, 2005, 05:41:06 am »
If you create a Analysis Diagram , and drop on a TABLE  you will be able to  right click on the Table object and select DDL Generate.

Bruno.Cossi

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 803
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Generate DDL Error - DEFAULT NOT NULL
« Reply #3 on: April 01, 2005, 08:04:47 am »
Hi,

it does not have to be an Analysis diagram, in fact I suspect Class diagram would be the most common choice, the option works on any diagram type as far as I know.

Bruno

Quote
If you create a Analysis Diagram , and drop on a TABLE  you will be able to  right click on the Table object and select DDL Generate.


Bruno.Cossi

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 803
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Generate DDL Error - DEFAULT NOT NULL
« Reply #4 on: April 01, 2005, 08:05:23 am »
Hi Martin,

what edition of EA do you have? The desktop edition does not have support for database engineering. See here: http://www.sparxsystems.com.au/Editions.htm

Hope this helps!
Bruno

Quote
Hi Ian

How could you generate the ddl?. I have the problem that i can't see the 'Generate ddl ...' when i activate the table in the diagram an rightclick on it.

Best regards
Martin


ololett

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • I love YaBB 1G - SP1!
    • View Profile
Re: Generate DDL Error - DEFAULT NOT NULL
« Reply #5 on: April 01, 2005, 01:10:22 pm »
Hi Bruno

Many thanks - that's it.
I have a Desktop Edition. According to the table of features http://www.sparxsystems.com.au/Editions.htm the generation of ddl doesn't work.

I suggest that the help file is extended with this remark.

Best regards
Martin