Author Topic: Reverse Engineering code  (Read 2012 times)

sunil.sahu

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • I love YaBB 1G - SP1!
    • View Profile
Reverse Engineering code
« on: July 20, 2005, 11:27:46 pm »
Hi,

Does anyone know while reverse engineering the source code to generate the model, how to make available code specified in any method to the "initial code" section of model?  
 
Thanks,  

Sunil

Eve

  • EA Administrator
  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 7301
  • Karma: +84/-12
    • View Profile
Re: Reverse Engineering code
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2005, 04:29:22 pm »
Currently there is no way to get EA to do it for you.  The reason for this is because it will only be generated again in overwrite.  It really is only meant for initial code, but the code already exists.

Simon
Eve

support@sparxsystems.com

sunil.sahu

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • I love YaBB 1G - SP1!
    • View Profile
Re: Reverse Engineering code
« Reply #2 on: July 22, 2005, 02:08:12 am »
Thanks for your reply.
If there is a method in a class in EA, having some code written in 'Behaviour->initial code' section, then on doing 'forward enginering' it is transferred to corresponding method's body. Now, if i do some changes to this method body and reverse it to EA, it does not take the changes to 'initial' code section. Is there any way to reflect method body changes back to model in EA??
What is the meaning of 'synch' in EA?

Eve

  • EA Administrator
  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 7301
  • Karma: +84/-12
    • View Profile
Re: Reverse Engineering code
« Reply #3 on: July 24, 2005, 03:26:51 pm »
Reverse synchronise is updating the model with changes in the code.

Forward synchronise is updating the code with changes in the model.

No, there is no way to make EA fill the initial code field for you.

Simon
Eve

support@sparxsystems.com

sunil.sahu

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • I love YaBB 1G - SP1!
    • View Profile
Re: Reverse Engineering code
« Reply #4 on: July 24, 2005, 11:41:25 pm »
Thanks for your reply.
What do you mean by "Reverse synchronise is updating the model with changes in the code.".
"Changes in the code" means changes in the body of any existing method or adding new method in class.

Is there any relationship between Reverse Synchronise and initial code section.


Sunil

Eve

  • EA Administrator
  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 7301
  • Karma: +84/-12
    • View Profile
Re: Reverse Engineering code
« Reply #5 on: July 25, 2005, 04:16:24 pm »
"changes in the code" -> You have modified your code.
"updating the model" -> You need the model to accurately reflect the code.  So you update the model so it does.
This process is called Reverse Synchronising.

Reverse Synchronising is a special case of reverse engineering (producing a model from the code) where a model already exists.

No reverse engineering in EA ever updates the initial code field.

Simon
Eve

support@sparxsystems.com

mfritz

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Visualize the World!
    • View Profile
Re: Reverse Engineering code
« Reply #6 on: August 04, 2005, 07:46:50 am »
is it planned, that ea synchronize the source code into the "initial code" attribute of operations?

it was great, if ea could do that. in my opinion, this the last missing link between ea and a real ide.

if ea would have this feature, and the source code could be edited (with the already existing, great code-editor), you do not need an ide anymore.

Eve

  • EA Administrator
  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 7301
  • Karma: +84/-12
    • View Profile
Re: Reverse Engineering code
« Reply #7 on: August 04, 2005, 03:21:11 pm »
No, it's not planned at all.

But in 5.1 there will be a few additions to improve the source code editing experience in EA.  For example, when you select a method EA will actually go to the source of that method in the editor.  (It already does this for some languages but it will be expanded.)

Simon
Eve

support@sparxsystems.com