Author Topic: Visio Add-In Import Capability  (Read 1716 times)

salayande

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 224
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • I love YaBB 1 Gold!
    • View Profile
Visio Add-In Import Capability
« on: August 23, 2007, 02:18:00 pm »
I installed the Visio Add-In and tried to import a Visio diagram obtained from the DMTF web site: http://www.dmtf.org/standards/cim/cim_schema_v215

The EA version installed is 7.0.815. The version of MS Visio is 2003

The import was incomplete and unusable. Has anyone out there used this Add-In and is there an important activity I may have missed? Any information to resolve this issue is appreciated.

regards

Segun


dbax

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 69
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • One EA To Rule Them All
    • View Profile
Re: Visio Add-In Import Capability
« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2007, 02:34:51 pm »
I have used it in version 6.5 successfully on few process diagrams that I've done in Visio 2003. However, as of version 7.0 this add-in causes EA to crash. I have already reported a bug for this to Sparx support.

mikeb

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Visio Add-In Import Capability
« Reply #2 on: October 25, 2007, 01:57:08 am »
hi

I'm experiencing the same problem with the Visio add-in crashing EA 7.0. did you get any feedback on the fault you reported, as to when it may be fixed?

Mike

dbax

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 69
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • One EA To Rule Them All
    • View Profile
Re: Visio Add-In Import Capability
« Reply #3 on: October 25, 2007, 08:36:29 am »
Well, not quite, only that it will be addressed in near future. However, as of build 817 this add-in worked fine for me and crashed EA only once and that was on a goofy flow diagram that, I think, add-in cannot interpret. I do not know if they had fixed it but I did notice that when I downloaded reinstalled it (4 weeks ago) the version had changed from 1.0 to 1.1. So, maybe some these issues have been addressed?!


«Midnight»

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 5651
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • That nice Mister Grey
    • View Profile
Re: Visio Add-In Import Capability
« Reply #4 on: October 25, 2007, 10:07:48 am »
Quote
...this add-in worked fine for me and crashed EA only once...

Still, one would expect it to handle an error in some other fashion.

Still work to go I'd say. Report the bug, and send Sparx the Visio file you were trying to import.
No, you can't have it!

Aaron B

  • EA Administrator
  • EA User
  • *****
  • Posts: 903
  • Karma: +13/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Visio Add-In Import Capability
« Reply #5 on: October 25, 2007, 02:42:04 pm »
The Visio Add-In has been re-compiled for compatibility with EA 7.0 (to address the 'crash' problem).  The latest version of the Add-In is 1.2, and is available to download from the MDG Technologies page:
http://www.sparxsystems.com/resources/mdg_tech

NOTE: EA 6.5 users should continue using the older build, which is also still available to download.

«Midnight»

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 5651
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • That nice Mister Grey
    • View Profile
Re: Visio Add-In Import Capability
« Reply #6 on: October 25, 2007, 03:00:07 pm »
Thanks Aaron,

This clears things up nicely.

BTW, is the 1.1 build still around for those who need to update from 1.0 but are still using EA 6.5?

David
No, you can't have it!

Aaron B

  • EA Administrator
  • EA User
  • *****
  • Posts: 903
  • Karma: +13/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Visio Add-In Import Capability
« Reply #7 on: October 25, 2007, 03:59:55 pm »
Yes, there is a link on the MDG Technologies page to download the 1.1 version for EA 6.5 (see the line underneath the main download link).

mikeb

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Visio Add-In Import Capability
« Reply #8 on: October 25, 2007, 11:10:26 pm »
I've installed v1.2 and can import the Visio file now okay. thanks for the info.
Mike