Author Topic: RTF output Diagram connector  (Read 1999 times)

LeeD

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
RTF output Diagram connector
« on: February 19, 2014, 12:21:29 pm »
Hi
When using the RTF output in EA 10 it's possible and really helpful to be able to output elements and connectors from a diagram in a package rather than having the elements in the package.
Having said that, I can't see a way to include the source and target element names in the output as I can if the elements were referenced directly and not through the diagram? Is there any way to do that?
Cheers
Lee
« Last Edit: February 19, 2014, 12:21:54 pm by LeeD »

motivatedgorilla

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 44
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: RTF output Diagram connector
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2014, 12:23:43 pm »
Do you mean to say you are unable to output the target and source elements?

LeeD

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: RTF output Diagram connector
« Reply #2 on: February 19, 2014, 12:29:06 pm »
I can output the elements but not attached to the connector. My document template markup currently looks like this

package >
{Pkg.Name}
{Pkg.Notes}
diagram >
{Diagram.Name}
{Diagram.Notes}
{Diagram.DiagramImg}
{Diagram.Figure}
element >
{Element.Name}
{Element.Notes}
< element
Uses/Integrations/Roles
connector >
{Connector.Name}
Protocol : {Connector.Alias}
Description : {Connector.Notes}
< connector

< diagram
< package


And I'd really like to put sourcename > destinationname above{Connector.Name}

motivatedgorilla

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 44
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: RTF output Diagram connector
« Reply #3 on: February 19, 2014, 12:41:53 pm »
If i understand you correctly you can display the source name and target name if you select Connector > Source > Element and Connector > Target > Element from the sections pane
« Last Edit: February 19, 2014, 12:42:23 pm by motivatedgorilla »

LeeD

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: RTF output Diagram connector
« Reply #4 on: February 19, 2014, 01:06:23 pm »
That only works if you're directly outputting elements in a package rather than producing from a diagram.

Jacob Vos

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 48
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: RTF output Diagram connector
« Reply #5 on: February 19, 2014, 05:22:51 pm »
I was able to insert information about connectors displayed on a diagram that was in another package than the elements displayed on it.

The sections I have selected:
- Package
-- Element
--- Connector
---- Source
----- Element
---- Target
----- Element
-- Diagram
--- Element
--- Connector

I am still not getting the info and lay-out I want to get, but hopefully it helps you.