Author Topic: Be able to change activity to a sub activity  (Read 2764 times)

Rob_M

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 58
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Be able to change activity to a sub activity
« on: November 21, 2003, 02:35:35 pm »
When creating an activity diagram, I would like to be able to change the type of an activity to a sub-activity, thereby adding in a linked diagram.

I expected such a feature to be found in Element->Change Type, then selecting sub-activity from the pull down menu.
Alas, sub-activity was nowhere to be found.

Rob

Bruno.Cossi

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 803
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Be able to change activity to a sub activity
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2003, 07:29:38 pm »
Even better - as soon as a child diagram is created under an activity, it might change into a sub-activity!

Bruno

jmr

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Be able to change activity to a sub activity
« Reply #2 on: December 15, 2003, 05:19:21 pm »
Yes!!!  I'm just working on my first project with EA and have needed this feature several times.

I look forward to seeing it added in a near-term update!?

thomaskilian

  • Guest
Re: Be able to change activity to a sub activity
« Reply #3 on: January 20, 2004, 10:07:03 am »
I'm joining!

tstuefe

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Be able to change activity to a sub activity
« Reply #4 on: January 26, 2004, 03:35:31 am »
me too.

jesse

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Be able to change activity to a sub activity
« Reply #5 on: February 12, 2004, 11:14:05 am »
There actually is a work-around for this problem. If you have a normal activity that you want to change into a sub-activity:
1) Use the Element -> Change Type to change the activity into a class
2) Right click on the class in the diagram and select "Set as Composite"
3) Use the Element -> Change Type to change the class back into an activity
The activity is now a sub-activity. To change a sub-activity into a regular activity, do the same, but uncheck the Set as Composite flag on the class. Apparently this will all be fixed in version 4.0.

Bruno.Cossi

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 803
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Be able to change activity to a sub activity
« Reply #6 on: February 12, 2004, 11:38:29 am »
Good one!
How in the world did you figure that out? :-)

Thanks,
Bruno

Rob_M

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 58
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Be able to change activity to a sub activity
« Reply #7 on: February 12, 2004, 03:19:42 pm »
Sweet, Thanks Jesse.

Rob

thomaskilian

  • Guest
Re: Be able to change activity to a sub activity
« Reply #8 on: February 13, 2004, 06:11:09 am »
Cool - real hacker's work!  ;)

'Apparently this will all be fixed in version 4.0.' unfortunately not yet   :'(

Thomas

thomaskilian

  • Guest
Re: Be able to change activity to a sub activity
« Reply #9 on: February 13, 2004, 10:39:57 am »
Too fast - actually 4.0 solves the problem :D :
'Set as Composite Element' is directly available for activities. Turning it on, automatically creates a diagram within the activity element.

Bruno.Cossi

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 803
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Be able to change activity to a sub activity
« Reply #10 on: February 13, 2004, 11:57:50 am »
Excellent!