Author Topic: Move an element to a package  (Read 1957 times)

peter.zrnko

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 253
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Move an element to a package
« on: November 09, 2006, 12:49:00 am »
Suggestion:
Select an element (one or more) in project browser.
Right click and  select "Move Into package" (new feature).
Select a Package using tree control.

It's terrible to move an element between packages if you have dozens of elements in them.
Peter

Paolo F Cantoni

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 8001
  • Karma: +211/-127
  • Inconsistently correct systems DON'T EXIST!
    • View Profile
Re: Move an element to a package
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2006, 01:29:11 am »
Seconded!

Paolo
Inconsistently correct systems DON'T EXIST!
... Therefore, aim for consistency; in the expectation of achieving correctness....
-Semantica-
Helsinki Principle Rules!

peter.zrnko

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 253
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Move an element to a package
« Reply #2 on: November 09, 2006, 01:35:13 am »
Feature request done.
Peter

«Midnight»

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 5651
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • That nice Mister Grey
    • View Profile
Re: Move an element to a package
« Reply #3 on: November 09, 2006, 04:25:52 am »
Thirded!
No, you can't have it!

Weedman

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 33
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Move an element to a package
« Reply #4 on: November 09, 2006, 07:16:53 am »
Fourthed   ;D

Roger A. Shepherd

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 35
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Move an element to a package
« Reply #5 on: November 14, 2006, 05:04:45 pm »
 ???
Maybe I don't understand exactly what you're asking for.  But...I do bulk moves of objects between packages and composite elements all the time.  I just go to the project browser and select multiple items (ctrl-click or shift-click) and drag the selected items to the package/composite element I want to move them to in the Project Browser.

HTH.

Paolo F Cantoni

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 8001
  • Karma: +211/-127
  • Inconsistently correct systems DON'T EXIST!
    • View Profile
Re: Move an element to a package
« Reply #6 on: November 14, 2006, 05:10:13 pm »
If the target package is off screen or not currently visible (due to collapsing) the drag can be problematic....

That's why we're asking  or the additional functionality.

HTH,
Paolo
Inconsistently correct systems DON'T EXIST!
... Therefore, aim for consistency; in the expectation of achieving correctness....
-Semantica-
Helsinki Principle Rules!