Author Topic: Reference Data Import needs "Delete"  (Read 2259 times)

Paolo F Cantoni

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 8001
  • Karma: +211/-127
  • Inconsistently correct systems DON'T EXIST!
    • View Profile
Reference Data Import needs "Delete"
« on: October 18, 2007, 10:37:07 pm »
Reference Data Import appears to be additive only... That is, you can create new entries or replace existing ones with new values...  What you can't do is remove any redundant ones...

We need to be able to replace a complete Dataset as well...  This allows us to maintain better consistency (that word again) between various repository instances...

I'd suggest a checkbox against each Dataset in a file [  ] Delete (before Import)

Paolo
[size=0]©2007 Paolo Cantoni, -Semantica-[/size]
« Last Edit: October 18, 2007, 10:37:31 pm by PaoloFCantoni »
Inconsistently correct systems DON'T EXIST!
... Therefore, aim for consistency; in the expectation of achieving correctness....
-Semantica-
Helsinki Principle Rules!

peter.zrnko

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 253
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Reference Data Import needs "Delete"
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2007, 01:00:22 pm »
What about Version control Reference data such as Images, Project Glossary etc. ?
Peter

Paolo F Cantoni

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 8001
  • Karma: +211/-127
  • Inconsistently correct systems DON'T EXIST!
    • View Profile
Re: Reference Data Import needs "Delete"
« Reply #2 on: October 19, 2007, 02:12:55 pm »
Quote
What about Version control Reference data such as Images, Project Glossary etc. ?
Sorry Peter,

Not sure I understand the point you you are making here...  Can you elaborate?

Paolo
Inconsistently correct systems DON'T EXIST!
... Therefore, aim for consistency; in the expectation of achieving correctness....
-Semantica-
Helsinki Principle Rules!

peter.zrnko

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 253
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Reference Data Import needs "Delete"
« Reply #3 on: October 20, 2007, 12:19:46 pm »
Consider you have a package with some elements. You can
- export it, and import to another project (strip GUIDs or not, as you want)
- version control this package, check it out, delete some elements, check in, somebody else can get the latest version of this package.

I think this is exactly what you want to do with reference data.
- export it, and import to another project (as new, or replace existing set of ref data)
- version control reference data, check it out, delete some data, check in, somebody else can get the latest version of this "reference data package".

Now it's possible only to
- export reference data
- import them as new
You can version control the exported xml file on your own. But it's not possible to import this xml file and replace the complet set of ref. data. The possibility to delete ref data not in the imported xml file is missing.

Some examples:
1. it's possible to work offline on a Requirements package and check in this package lately, when online. This is not possible with Project glossary because glossary items are not elements in a package, but reference data.
2. it's possible to work offline on a GUI package and check in this package lately, when online. But new images used in GUI diagrams will be lost unless exported/imported as ref data. Images are not elements in a package, but reference data.

Is it clear, what I mean by "Version control Reference data"?

I mean the possibility to make a table with reference data "version controlled table" just as it is possible to make a package "controlled package with version control".
When somebody wants to update such version controlled table, it's necessary first to check it out, update it and then check it in.
"Get all latest" will work together with controlled packages and tables.

The ability to delete ref data, that are not in the imported package is built in the idea to control tables with ref data. It's not possible to implement "controlled tables" without this ability.
Peter

Paolo F Cantoni

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 8001
  • Karma: +211/-127
  • Inconsistently correct systems DON'T EXIST!
    • View Profile
Re: Reference Data Import needs "Delete"
« Reply #4 on: October 20, 2007, 10:14:34 pm »
Thanks Peter, now I understand.  However, what you are asking for is "further along the line" than I am requesting.

In any event, I think both functionalities should be available.

I'm not saying your request doesn't have a lot of merit.  It certainly does!  I'm prepared to settle for less at present (since we use external version control).

Paolo
« Last Edit: October 24, 2007, 04:25:37 am by PaoloFCantoni »
Inconsistently correct systems DON'T EXIST!
... Therefore, aim for consistency; in the expectation of achieving correctness....
-Semantica-
Helsinki Principle Rules!

Paolo F Cantoni

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 8001
  • Karma: +211/-127
  • Inconsistently correct systems DON'T EXIST!
    • View Profile
Re: Reference Data Import needs "Delete"
« Reply #5 on: October 24, 2007, 04:26:08 am »
[size=13]BUG: Weird FK behaviour[/size] shows why you need it...

Paolo
Inconsistently correct systems DON'T EXIST!
... Therefore, aim for consistency; in the expectation of achieving correctness....
-Semantica-
Helsinki Principle Rules!