Author Topic: Tool: Create Logical Diagrams  (Read 2037 times)

Uffe

  • EA Practitioner
  • ***
  • Posts: 1619
  • Karma: +112/-11
  • Flutes: 1; Clarinets: 1; Saxes: 5 and counting
    • View Profile
Tool: Create Logical Diagrams
« on: March 31, 2008, 10:55:00 pm »
Hi all!


When reverse-engineering code you have the option of creating logical diagrams per package. However, for a large project this takes a lot of extra time and might cause problems with too many open windows.

Since the functionality is clearly already in EA to generate a diagram from a package, I'd like it as a Tool (with recursion as an option).

Anyone else?


/Uffe
My theories are always correct, just apply them to the right reality.

«Midnight»

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 5651
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • That nice Mister Grey
    • View Profile
Re: Tool: Create Logical Diagrams
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2008, 11:24:42 pm »
I'm not quite getting the idea Uffe.

What exactly do you want to happen on import?

David
No, you can't have it!

thomas.kilian

  • Guest
Re: Tool: Create Logical Diagrams
« Reply #2 on: April 01, 2008, 01:43:12 am »
An auto-gen to create diagrams from package contents. Could be nice, I think.

Uffe

  • EA Practitioner
  • ***
  • Posts: 1619
  • Karma: +112/-11
  • Flutes: 1; Clarinets: 1; Saxes: 5 and counting
    • View Profile
Re: Tool: Create Logical Diagrams
« Reply #3 on: April 01, 2008, 08:06:24 pm »
Yes, that's right. What I'm after is the ability to auto-generate class diagrams from an existing package structure in a model.

The background is the poor performance of the reverse-engineering process, but I meant for this tool to be completely separate from that.

/U
My theories are always correct, just apply them to the right reality.

«Midnight»

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 5651
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • That nice Mister Grey
    • View Profile
Re: Tool: Create Logical Diagrams
« Reply #4 on: April 01, 2008, 10:23:31 pm »
Got it!

Quite a useful feature, if you ask me. This would also have relevance outside of imported packages. There are situations where you might want to construct a structural diagram from an existing package.

Options that might be relevant would include the ability to incorporate 'foreign' elements that are referenced from within the package. Perhaps a simple filter - something along the lines of the Add Related Elements dialog - would add some flexibility while reusing some logic that is already written.

David
« Last Edit: April 01, 2008, 10:23:47 pm by Midnight »
No, you can't have it!