Author Topic: Multilanguage support  (Read 2431 times)

Geert Bellekens

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 10438
  • Karma: +343/-30
  • Make EA work for YOU!
    • View Profile
    • Enterprise Architect Consultant and Value Added Reseller
Multilanguage support
« on: March 04, 2009, 06:07:10 pm »
It would be nice if EA would allow to configure different languages and allow each user-entered text field (including names of elements) to be translated in the configured languages.
This is a requirement that is common in multinationals and countries (like Belgium) that have multiple languages.
Although I hated having to work with Mega the last year, that was one of few advantages they have on EA.

salayande

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 224
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • I love YaBB 1 Gold!
    • View Profile
Re: Multilanguage support
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2009, 08:39:34 pm »
I support this feature request. It should help product diffusion into otherwise difficult / closed markets.

Eve

  • EA Administrator
  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 7296
  • Karma: +84/-12
    • View Profile
Re: Multilanguage support
« Reply #2 on: March 06, 2009, 10:23:11 am »
I know that many users put the second language in the alias field.
Eve

support@sparxsystems.com

Geert Bellekens

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 10438
  • Karma: +343/-30
  • Make EA work for YOU!
    • View Profile
    • Enterprise Architect Consultant and Value Added Reseller
Re: Multilanguage support
« Reply #3 on: March 06, 2009, 07:11:36 pm »
Yes that would work in some cases but:
  • It only works for the names of the elements, not the notes
  • Using the Alias only support two languages, and it doesn't allow you to specify which language is used on which field.

Our current workaround is to specify the different languages for the name in tagged-values like ENName/FRName/NLName
For the notes we use a workaround with an xml sort of tags
A typical not would look like this.
<NL>
<Description>
Dutch Description
</Description>
</NL>
<FR>
<Description>
French Description
</Description>
</FR>

As you can see this is far from ideal.

stevesavage

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 119
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Multilanguage support
« Reply #4 on: April 17, 2012, 05:50:29 am »
My current work around is using the API and tagged values.

5 main tagged values:
  • CurrentLanguage: EN or FR
  • Name_EN
  • Name_FR
  • Note_EN
  • Note_FR

Assume that the element is currently in English.

  • The user right clicks on the project browser and selects "Set to French" from the scripts.
  • The scripts saves any changes to the current "English" version the _EN tagged values, loads the "French" as replacements, and sets the CurrentLanguage to FR.
  • The user makes their changes.
  • The user selects "Set to English"...

With this approach I can do the same for any other properties or tagged values that I need to have in multiple languages.

I've also be experimenting with using this approach for having French and English versions of attached documents by storing the RTF string in a tagged value's "Note" field.

stevesavage

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 119
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Multilanguage support
« Reply #5 on: April 17, 2012, 05:54:42 am »
I should also mention, I've started looking the new "workflow" scripts.

My plan:
Use the Security -> Manage Groups to create "language groups"
Users will only be in one group or the other.

When a member of the "French" group accesses an element's properties (if it's not locked), it is automatically changed to French by default.

Ditto for English.

Eve

  • EA Administrator
  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 7296
  • Karma: +84/-12
    • View Profile
Re: Multilanguage support
« Reply #6 on: April 17, 2012, 08:19:39 am »
Workflow scripts (intentionally) can't use the regular automation interface. So you won't be able to use them to swap between languages.
Eve

support@sparxsystems.com

stevesavage

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 119
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Multilanguage support
« Reply #7 on: April 29, 2012, 09:49:36 pm »
Thanks Simon, I guess it will have to stay as a manual process.

Geert Bellekens

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 10438
  • Karma: +343/-30
  • Make EA work for YOU!
    • View Profile
    • Enterprise Architect Consultant and Value Added Reseller
Re: Multilanguage support
« Reply #8 on: April 30, 2012, 03:21:30 pm »
You could still do that using a regular add-in.
If you use one of the Context Item Events (see help)

Geert