Author Topic: Generate tables from classes?  (Read 1378 times)

mrblack12

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 67
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Generate tables from classes?
« on: February 23, 2017, 01:13:44 am »
Hi,

I have a class model setup with classes that contain attributes. The attributes all have data types and scope (protected, private or public). Is is possible to generate a physical model (e.g. tables and columns) from this?

Thanx a bunch....
Rick

qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 11319
  • Karma: +287/-259
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re: Generate tables from classes?
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2017, 01:32:31 am »
IIRC there are transformations aiding in that (though I generally do not favor/recommend to use transformations). There's also an add-in/MDG (?) named DBMode, but I have no experience with that.

q.

Geert Bellekens

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 10311
  • Karma: +334/-30
  • Make EA work for YOU!
    • View Profile
    • Enterprise Architect Consultant and Value Added Reseller
Re: Generate tables from classes?
« Reply #2 on: February 23, 2017, 01:47:42 am »
Right click on your logical data model package and choose Advanced | Transform Package then choose Tables

Whether that will yield a usable result is the question of course. I wrote a add-in recently to perform that transformation for a customer that uses DB2 and had very specific requirements.

Geert