Author Topic: SQL search for conveyed items and source/target names  (Read 3391 times)

Ramirez-UK

• EA Novice
    • View Profile
SQL search for conveyed items and source/target names
« on: June 19, 2017, 08:00:48 pm »
I've been working with conveyed information and trying bits of script found on the forums.  I've managed to get the following SQL to list all items conveyed, and can return the Start_Object_ID and End_Object_ID:

select Connector_ID, Direction, Connector_Type, t_object.Name, Start_Object_ID, End_Object_ID from t_connector, t_xref, t_object where t_xref.Client = t_connector.ea_guid and t_xref.description LIKE '*'+t_object.ea_guid+'*'

What I'd really like is to return the names of the start and end object elements, not just the IDs.  Is there a bit of script that can do this?

I'm afraid I'm not a SQL expert and even less of a guru when it comes to finding info buried in Sparx's database!

qwerty

• EA Guru
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re: SQL search for conveyed items and source/target names
« Reply #1 on: June 19, 2017, 08:27:28 pm »
Without having tested, the following should give you the result you need:

Code: [Select]
select Connector_ID, Direction, Connector_Type, t_object.Name, so.name, eo.name
from t_connector, t_xref, t_object, t_object so, t_object eo
where t_xref.Client = t_connector.ea_guid and t_xref.description LIKE '*'+t_object.ea_guid+'*' and so.object_id = Start_Object_ID and eo.object_id = End_Object_ID

q.

Ramirez-UK

• EA Novice
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 20, 2017, 08:01:46 pm »
Many thanks, that gives exactly the result I need and it's quick and simple too!

Ramirez-UK

• EA Novice
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: July 19, 2017, 02:05:53 am »