Author Topic: Document a whole Solution  (Read 1828 times)

willeygi

• EA Novice
    • View Profile
Document a whole Solution
« on: March 01, 2018, 09:33:50 am »
Hi all

I'm new to enterprise architect and want to document a whole solution in Enterprise Architect. My idea is to create a documentation in EA where i can start on the top with the solution and then browse through the abstraction layers. Here is an example:
First i have the business solution, one level deeper i want to see which components are part of this solution. for example one of the components in the whole solution is a SOAP web service.
in the next step i browse into this SOAP web service component and will see what SOAP methods it will provide.
Having the SOAP methods, i would like to browse inside this methods to see e.g. which methods inside the code will be called and how they access the underlaying database.
The last level would be the database layer.

If it would be flat it would look like a mindmap, but i want to have it on different layers with the correct models.

Could you please give me a little entry point? how should i start with my solution so that i can browse trough the different layers?

Thank you very much
Will
« Last Edit: March 01, 2018, 09:46:50 am by willeygi »

Glassboy

• EA Practitioner
    • View Profile
Re: Document a whole Solution
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2018, 10:11:40 am »
Well the answer to all that is "yes".

I think the entry point is you deciding the notation you are going to use.  At your finger tips you have UML, Archimate, and SysML.  Once you've made that choice you can ask some more specific questions.

Geert Bellekens

• EA Guru
  • Make EA work for YOU!
    • View Profile
    • Enterprise Architect Consultant and Value Added Reseller
« Reply #2 on: March 01, 2018, 04:02:47 pm »
Mosten often I see that different languages are being used for different parts of the model.

Typically that would be:
- Archimate for the architectural views