Author Topic: Function of “Partition” (Alias) field in Activity?  (Read 406 times)

Paolo F Cantoni

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 6801
  • Karma: +142/-103
  • Inconsistently correct systems DON'T EXIST!
    • View Profile
Function of “Partition” (Alias) field in Activity?
« on: May 31, 2019, 03:47:07 pm »
We've started using the Alias field in Elements in a very concerted way.

Every vertex should be able to have an alias, shouldn't it?  Wrong!  It seems the Activity element type has a Partition field instead of an Alias.  Sparx has apparently hijacked its own field.  I tried to find out about the semantics of it, but it eluded me.  qwerty's excellent Inside EA eBook is also silent on the topic.

Can anyone shed any light?

TIA,
Paolo

[Edit: corrected object to element.]
« Last Edit: June 01, 2019, 11:09:29 am by Paolo F Cantoni »
Inconsistently correct systems DON'T EXIST!
... Therefore, aim for consistency; in the expectation of achieving correctness....
-Semantica-
Helsinki Principle Rules!

qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 10504
  • Karma: +232/-190
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re: Function of “Partition” (Alias) field in Activity?
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2019, 07:20:03 am »
Well, since you talk about Activity and Object (what is an activity object by the way?) there's an object element in the activity toolbox which has its (so-called) Role property stored in t_object.alias. The Requirements use the stereotype as type. There's more for sure. Inconsistency, your name is Enterprise Architect.

The UML 2.5 specs talk about alias only in connection with namespaces and element imports.

q.
« Last Edit: June 01, 2019, 07:23:58 am by qwerty »

Paolo F Cantoni

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 6801
  • Karma: +142/-103
  • Inconsistently correct systems DON'T EXIST!
    • View Profile
Re: Function of “Partition” (Alias) field in Activity?
« Reply #2 on: June 01, 2019, 11:10:57 am »
Well, since you talk about Activity and Object (what is an activity object by the way?) there's an object element in the activity toolbox which has its (so-called) Role property stored in t_object.alias. The Requirements use the stereotype as type. There's more for sure. Inconsistency, your name is Enterprise Architect.

The UML 2.5 specs talk about alias only in connection with namespaces and element imports.

q.
My bad, I meant element (for object).  Original post corrected.

However, your point about inconsistency is taken.

Paolo
Inconsistently correct systems DON'T EXIST!
... Therefore, aim for consistency; in the expectation of achieving correctness....
-Semantica-
Helsinki Principle Rules!

qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 10504
  • Karma: +232/-190
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re: Function of “Partition” (Alias) field in Activity?
« Reply #3 on: June 01, 2019, 05:47:36 pm »
Hmm. Where is that Partition property? I'm looking into V13.5.

q.

Paolo F Cantoni

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 6801
  • Karma: +142/-103
  • Inconsistently correct systems DON'T EXIST!
    • View Profile
Re: Function of “Partition” (Alias) field in Activity?
« Reply #4 on: June 02, 2019, 08:58:59 am »
Hmm. Where is that Partition property? I'm looking into V13.5.

q.
It's in the new multipurpose Element Window. I checked and it's in v14 and v13.5.  I thought at first it was a v15 special, but it's been there for a while, just not noticed (at least by me).

Paolo
Inconsistently correct systems DON'T EXIST!
... Therefore, aim for consistency; in the expectation of achieving correctness....
-Semantica-
Helsinki Principle Rules!

qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 10504
  • Karma: +232/-190
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re: Function of “Partition” (Alias) field in Activity?
« Reply #5 on: June 02, 2019, 10:07:57 am »
Ah yes. Sigh. The properties. Not the properties :-/

Just look into your signature. All said.

q.

billf62

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Function of “Partition” (Alias) field in Activity?
« Reply #6 on: June 14, 2019, 04:31:45 am »
I noticed that just today.  It does appear 'hijacked' in the docked Element Properties window, but it's still there in the old-fashioned Properties/General screen (Use ALT + Enter to access).