Author Topic: Importing glossary terms  (Read 1896 times)

GTuckwell

  • Sparx Services UK
  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
    • Sparx Services UK (Hippo Software)
Importing glossary terms
« on: May 10, 2018, 12:09:34 am »
This is a question I have never quite got around to asking for months. Is there a way (a simple, non scripting way) to import a list of glossary items. CSV import is only for real project content, so I can't find a way to use that.
G Tuckwell, Hippo Software
Sparx Services UK.
UML, BPMN, SysML, ArchiMate Consultant/Trainers
http://www.hippo-software.co.uk

qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 10582
  • Karma: +232/-191
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re: Importing glossary terms
« Reply #1 on: May 10, 2018, 01:25:52 am »
You can use Import Reference Data. That on the other hand means you need to provide the XML format that EA wants.

q.

GTuckwell

  • Sparx Services UK
  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
    • Sparx Services UK (Hippo Software)
Re: Importing glossary terms
« Reply #2 on: May 10, 2018, 01:35:26 am »
Yes, I know a client who tried that! Its just text manipulation, but messing about in XML isn't for everyone.
This seems like an obvious (and easily filled) gap in the tool.
G Tuckwell, Hippo Software
Sparx Services UK.
UML, BPMN, SysML, ArchiMate Consultant/Trainers
http://www.hippo-software.co.uk

Geert Bellekens

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 9469
  • Karma: +266/-27
  • Make EA work for YOU!
    • View Profile
    • Enterprise Architect Consultant and Value Added Reseller
Re: Importing glossary terms
« Reply #3 on: May 10, 2018, 02:42:26 am »
You can use my Excel Importer to import glossary tools.

Geert

Nabil

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 141
  • Karma: +5/-2
    • View Profile
    • View My LinkedIn Profile Here
Re: Importing glossary terms
« Reply #4 on: May 10, 2018, 03:36:25 am »
MDG OFFICE is an alternate https://sparxsystems.com.au/products/mdg/int/office/office-integration.html it comes with ultimate license. You can avail a trial version
BR
Nabil
Nabil

David Rains

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 76
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Importing glossary terms
« Reply #5 on: October 16, 2018, 12:32:08 am »
Having an issue in 4.2 but it might be something simple: I have an instance of an EA model open - assume this would be a precondition to import :), open the Importer Spreadsheet, navigate to the Glossary Tab, then "Add-In" tab to find the "Import Glossary" button. Using the existing glossary terms that are predefined I press the button: "MS VBA; Compile error: Object Library feature not supported" popup in "addOrUpdateTerm" function, for myTerm (Set myTerm = getTermByName(name); MS Excel "Application-defined or object-defined error"

I looked under Developer/COM Add-Ins and noticed "Team Foundation Add-in" was selected and this is being loaded...

Is there something that is missing in my installation or am I just missing something obvious?

Geert Bellekens

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 9469
  • Karma: +266/-27
  • Make EA work for YOU!
    • View Profile
    • Enterprise Architect Consultant and Value Added Reseller
Re: Importing glossary terms
« Reply #6 on: October 16, 2018, 02:38:36 am »
David,

Probably one of the used references that is not available on your PC.
If you go to the VBA development environment (Alt-F11) and choose Tools | References you should see something like this:
https://imgur.com/gf3K0LS

Geert

David Rains

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 76
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Importing glossary terms
« Reply #7 on: October 16, 2018, 08:09:37 am »
Nope, have all of those references 1:1 match. Any other ideas? Should/Could I try an earlier version?
I verified that the importing of a class works... seems to be specific to EA.Term, throws error BEFORE getTermByName I believe... as the breakpoint does not go into that function...

Thanks... been fun looking at VBA code again :)

« Last Edit: October 16, 2018, 08:37:27 am by David Rains »

qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 10582
  • Karma: +232/-191
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re: Importing glossary terms
« Reply #8 on: October 16, 2018, 09:49:19 am »
Can't really help, but I'd break it down to single units and see to get them work one by one.

q.

Geert Bellekens

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 9469
  • Karma: +266/-27
  • Make EA work for YOU!
    • View Profile
    • Enterprise Architect Consultant and Value Added Reseller
Re: Importing glossary terms
« Reply #9 on: October 16, 2018, 02:49:41 pm »
I just tried it again to be sure and the import works just fine here.

I'm a bit puzzled as to what could be the cause of the problem here. ???

I'm using EA version 14.1.1427, but that particular piece of code was written in 2013, so it must  be compatible with earlier versions of EA (version 10?)

Geert

David Rains

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 76
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Importing glossary terms
« Reply #10 on: October 18, 2018, 03:34:14 pm »
Okay, sorry for the delay. I am running EA 13.1 due to work environment. Will swap my build to 14.1 and give it a try and post back to here. also will try install on my backup Win 10 HP vs. Dell and see how things work out there... Thanks Querty and Geert!

BTW having SO much fun at my new job - helping an gov. org implement MBSE using EA (don't ask why 13.1, but will be moving to 14 soon...) Right now I am working on moving them OFF DOORS 9.5 for ReqMan to EA...

Model On!

Arshad

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 188
  • Karma: +11/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Importing glossary terms
« Reply #11 on: October 18, 2018, 03:37:58 pm »
Hi David

If you had MDG Integration for Microsoft office installed then you can directly import and also update glossary into EA from an excel spreadsheet.  It comes with ultimate license and you can avail a trial version here

To Import Glossary using MDG refer here .




HTH
Arshad

« Last Edit: October 18, 2018, 03:40:18 pm by Arshad »

Markus Gruendler

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Importing glossary terms
« Reply #12 on: November 16, 2018, 02:19:42 am »
@Geert: Excel importer is a simple but very useful tool, thank you.

- Markus

Geert Bellekens

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 9469
  • Karma: +266/-27
  • Make EA work for YOU!
    • View Profile
    • Enterprise Architect Consultant and Value Added Reseller
Re: Importing glossary terms
« Reply #13 on: November 16, 2018, 04:40:10 am »
@Geert: Excel importer is a simple but very useful tool, thank you.

- Markus
You're welcome ;D

Geert