Author Topic: EA v14 beta - The new Features window is awkward!  (Read 1936 times)

Geert Bellekens

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 10129
  • Karma: +326/-30
  • Make EA work for YOU!
    • View Profile
    • Enterprise Architect Consultant and Value Added Reseller
EA v14 beta - The new Features window is awkward!
« on: March 08, 2018, 06:32:29 pm »
I was just trying to create some operations, but the old popup dialog to edit operations and attributes has been replaced by a docked window called "Features".
Problem is that you can only edit part of the operation here (only list view part of the old dialog is here) the other properties you have to edit in the docked properties window.

Aside from the fact that you now don't have an explicit save anymore (as you had with the modal dialog) it is really awkward to have to use two different docked windows to achieve a single thing.

I hope there's a way to revert back to the old style (or at least make editing operations less awkward)

Geert

ChrisMW

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 82
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: EA v14 beta - The new Features window is awkward!
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2018, 11:50:18 pm »
Hmm, I didn't notice it until build 1420. But editing attributes is likewise clumsy. Where I had one screen, which was easy to tab around, I now have 2 windows, one window 2 tabs, to enter the same. It is more than clunky. I hope there is a way to also reinstate the older screen, pity I forgot to keep 1419, as I can't download it anymore....

qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 11121
  • Karma: +262/-246
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re: EA v14 beta - The new Features window is awkward!
« Reply #2 on: May 24, 2018, 12:09:38 am »
You can download previous versions of EA. It just needs a bit of search. Hide and seek not only in menus...

q.

Geert Bellekens

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 10129
  • Karma: +326/-30
  • Make EA work for YOU!
    • View Profile
    • Enterprise Architect Consultant and Value Added Reseller
Re: EA v14 beta - The new Features window is awkward!
« Reply #3 on: May 24, 2018, 12:56:43 am »
You can download previous versions of EA. It just needs a bit of search. Hide and seek not only in menus...

q.

Previous releases yes, but I don't think you can download previous builds of the same release.

Geert

ChrisMW

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 82
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: EA v14 beta - The new Features window is awkward!
« Reply #4 on: May 24, 2018, 01:42:58 am »
I couldn't find the previous build, and I keep all versions already, so moving down to 13.5 was simple and effective, but not desirable. I'd just like the old dialogue, much easier when you add say 10 or 20 attributes at once. Which for database stuff, is a common operation..... The new screen is not bad, just cumbersome now, because the old screen combined 3 bits that you go through. Name, type and visibility. Then mark things like id, cardinality and finally I enter a description. In the new set up I have to type name and type in the attributes screen, then go to the property screen, tab 1 to set the other stuff, and finally tab to the description (notes) for that attribute. It's just a lot of clicking.

Now I'm back to EA13.5, I notice that the property window I have doesn't leave the class/table when I am working with the attributes, so I have slightly more relevant info I can see. I would have preferred that the old screen would be simply dockable, and/or you can select those parts. Anyway.....

Sunshine

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 916
  • Karma: +77/-7
  • Its the results that count
    • View Profile
Re: EA v14 beta - The new Features window is awkward!
« Reply #5 on: May 24, 2018, 06:11:23 am »
Yep its different and awkward. Over time I might get used to it but it doesn't feel good so hopefully they may refine it to be easier to use.
Happy to help
:)

ChrisMW

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 82
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: EA v14 beta - The new Features window is awkward!
« Reply #6 on: May 24, 2018, 07:27:34 pm »
They can make it look it any way they like, but the requirement should and must be that you can define the attribute / operation wholly from one screen, not 2 screens and 2 tabs. The old dialog does that, and I like that because of it. But I'm not hung on the dialog, If they allowed you to added the relevant feature items to the line, might also work, if the setting sticks. But I cannot afford the slow down. Which is a shame, because I love the guidlines when placing elements on a diagram, that's a time saver.

Graham_Moir

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 724
  • Karma: +8/-12
    • View Profile
Re: EA v14 beta - The new Features window is awkward!
« Reply #7 on: May 25, 2018, 12:28:48 am »
It does make you wonder if Sparx has anyone looking at product usability and user productivity as two closely related goals when making this sort of change to the user interface. 

qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 11121
  • Karma: +262/-246
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re: EA v14 beta - The new Features window is awkward!
« Reply #8 on: May 25, 2018, 05:30:33 am »
It does make you wonder if Sparx has anyone ...
I wonder about a lot more that they obviously don't have. Or even what they have and should not.

q.

Sunshine

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 916
  • Karma: +77/-7
  • Its the results that count
    • View Profile
Re: EA v14 beta - The new Features window is awkward!
« Reply #9 on: May 26, 2018, 06:20:29 am »
I do remember the days when quality, standards, productivity and ease of use where paramount to the success of a product.
Happy to help
:)