Author Topic: EA14-QuickLinker relations dosen't work on someones objects  (Read 635 times)

marku

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 34
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
EA14-QuickLinker relations dosen't work on someones objects
« on: August 03, 2018, 02:03:25 am »
Hi
(I was check it on EA13-works ok, & EA14.21/23 -where dosen't work)
I have few objects like Archimate_ApplicationComponent. I want connect them by InformationFlow. In someones I can do it (I see QuickLinker box and this name of relations) but in someones I can't- when I move mouse between 2 object Ouicklinker menu are not visible.
I can add this relations from Toolbox, or in someones object QuickLinker are hasn't visible when I try connect "Object A" with "Object B" - but it work's Ok when I try connect "Object B" with "Object A"
It is always on the same objects, in different diagrams ( different Type). I check "Strict Connector Syntax"
I check all informations ( like: "Lock", "Status", "version" etc) about this objects. I check it t_Object Tabel.
I haven't idea why it dosen't work on someone object - this same object in EA 13 works Ok

Glassboy

  • EA Practitioner
  • ***
  • Posts: 1332
  • Karma: +104/-75
    • View Profile
Re: EA14-QuickLinker relations dosen't work on someones objects
« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2018, 08:06:32 am »
I have few objects like Archimate_ApplicationComponent. I want connect them by InformationFlow. In someones I can do it (I see QuickLinker box and this name of relations) but in someones I can't- when I move mouse between 2 object Ouicklinker menu are not visible.

ArchiMate application components can be connected via an ArchiMate "FLOW".  An Information Flow is a UML relationship and doesn't apply to modelling in ArchiMate.

marku

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 34
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: EA14-QuickLinker relations dosen't work on someones objects
« Reply #2 on: August 06, 2018, 08:15:46 pm »
But why someones AplicationComponents I can connected via InformationFlow ( a see it in QuickLinker), and someones I can't ( QuickLinker does not show up)
Even if this type of connected is dosen't apply in Archimate- I check "Strict Connector Syntax", and I should see (Quick Linker- with other relations)



peterc

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 84
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: EA14-QuickLinker relations dosen't work on someones objects
« Reply #3 on: August 07, 2018, 12:54:21 am »
Sparx have changed how the quicklinker works in EA14 - I have reported some inconsistencies to them - some have been fixed and some I am told that is how the quicklinker now works (for creating custom MDG Technologies).

As it worked in EA13 it might fall into the now broken (rather than the that's how it is now) category so worth raising as a bug with Sparx. I assume that you are using the Sparx supplied Archimate MDG technology.

Eve

  • EA Administrator
  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 6873
  • Karma: +67/-10
    • View Profile
Re: EA14-QuickLinker relations dosen't work on someones objects
« Reply #4 on: August 07, 2018, 09:18:32 am »
But why someones AplicationComponents I can connected via InformationFlow ( a see it in QuickLinker), and someones I can't ( QuickLinker does not show up)
Even if this type of connected is dosen't apply in Archimate- I check "Strict Connector Syntax", and I should see (Quick Linker- with other relations)
I'm wondering if you have a mix of ArchiMate 2 and ArchiMate 3 elements. They won't define any connector types between them, which would explain what you're describing.
Eve

support@sparxsystems.com