Author Topic: EA13 beta: missing basic copy,paste  (Read 3182 times)

Guillaume

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 775
  • Karma: +22/-0
    • View Profile
    • www.umlchannel.com
EA13 beta: missing basic copy,paste
« on: June 24, 2016, 11:00:29 pm »
I noticed that simple functions like copy, paste, paste as new that are available via EA12.1 Edit menu are missing from EA13 ribbons.
For users who don't use keyboard shortcuts like Ctrl-C, Ctrl-V,... I think such functions should remain available from EA menu.
Guillaume

Blog: www.umlchannel.com | Free utilities addin: www.eautils.com


Eve

  • EA Administrator
  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 6786
  • Karma: +63/-6
    • View Profile
Re: EA13 beta: missing basic copy,paste
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2016, 09:00:16 am »
They are there under Layout | Diagram | Edit.
Eve

support@sparxsystems.com

qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 10503
  • Karma: +231/-190
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re: EA13 beta: missing basic copy,paste
« Reply #2 on: June 27, 2016, 03:34:39 pm »
I wonder whether there is some kind of agreement between EA trainers and Sparx development to change the UI in each release so some "refreshment training" is permanently needed.

q.

Geert Bellekens

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 9386
  • Karma: +258/-27
  • Make EA work for YOU!
    • View Profile
    • Enterprise Architect Consultant and Value Added Reseller
Re: EA13 beta: missing basic copy,paste
« Reply #3 on: June 27, 2016, 04:16:04 pm »
q.

I can assure you that trainers are the ones that hate GUI changes like this the most.
For each release of EA they have to completely review their training materials because of the changes in the menus and GUI.

Geert

Guillaume

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 775
  • Karma: +22/-0
    • View Profile
    • www.umlchannel.com
Re: EA13 beta: missing basic copy,paste
« Reply #4 on: June 27, 2016, 05:28:41 pm »
It's indeed there but I expect users to take some time finding this one.
I used the Find Command from the Office 2016 theme hoping it'd find it but it's not indexed. Could it be added?

In the final EA13 version, can you provide an option to display the diagram layout toolbar at the top of the diagram? (it's been removed in EA 13 which is not convenient as it's very often used).

I saw that Ribbon Menus can be personalised which is good (we often customise the menu sets in current versions) ; could an extra level of details / customisation be added so I can disable a button instead of a whole section? e.g. remove Gap Analysis in Impact from the Design Ribbon?
What is the point of keeping Menu sets?

Thanks
Guillaume

Blog: www.umlchannel.com | Free utilities addin: www.eautils.com


Eve

  • EA Administrator
  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 6786
  • Karma: +63/-6
    • View Profile
Re: EA13 beta: missing basic copy,paste
« Reply #5 on: June 28, 2016, 09:33:53 am »
The next build will improve the search. I just tested and it finds Copy.
Eve

support@sparxsystems.com

skiwi

  • EA Practitioner
  • ***
  • Posts: 1825
  • Karma: +38/-69
    • View Profile
EA14 beta: missing basic copy,paste
« Reply #6 on: September 26, 2018, 11:41:44 am »
Please, where did basic simple and quick 'Copy', 'Past as New', and 'Pask as Link' go to in EA 14?


On 'Layout' its not under Diagram > Edit,
or on 'Design' Element > Edit where I would have expected it.


What I want to do is select an element on a diagram, Click Copy, then Click Paste as New.
Orthogonality rules
Using EA14.0 (1422) on Windows 10 Enterprise/64 bit. Repositories in SQLServer2014 R2 & Access2003/JET4.0

RoyC

  • EA Administrator
  • EA Practitioner
  • *****
  • Posts: 1236
  • Karma: +13/-4
  • Read The Help!
    • View Profile
Re: EA13 beta: missing basic copy,paste
« Reply #7 on: September 26, 2018, 11:58:21 am »
I can see the options, in the Layout ribbon. The diagram has to be open to enable them, but they are still visible regardless.

In the ribbon, click on 'Diagram > Edit > Copy selected element(s)' and 'Paste as New' (or 'Paste as Reference').

On a diagram, right-click on the element and select 'Copy', then right-click on the diagram and select 'Paste', then the appropriate Paste option.

There are also Copy, Cut and Paste options in the Project Browser element context menu.
Best Regards, Roy

skiwi

  • EA Practitioner
  • ***
  • Posts: 1825
  • Karma: +38/-69
    • View Profile
Re: EA13 beta: missing basic copy,paste
« Reply #8 on: September 26, 2018, 12:34:14 pm »
thank you  :D
Orthogonality rules
Using EA14.0 (1422) on Windows 10 Enterprise/64 bit. Repositories in SQLServer2014 R2 & Access2003/JET4.0

Geert Bellekens

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 9386
  • Karma: +258/-27
  • Make EA work for YOU!
    • View Profile
    • Enterprise Architect Consultant and Value Added Reseller
Re: EA13 beta: missing basic copy,paste
« Reply #9 on: September 26, 2018, 02:09:53 pm »
Keyboard shortcuts also work:

- Copy: Ctrl-C
- Cut: Ctrl-X
- Paste (as link): Ctrl-V
- Paste (as new): Ctrl-Shift-V

Geert