Author Topic: Silent install and configuration of client  (Read 1119 times)

KONIKPK

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Silent install and configuration of client
« on: February 01, 2019, 03:45:40 am »
Hi all

we deploying EA.
Now I have installed Key Store. I have added keys. Configure to AD authentification to group.
Now I need to deploy client by SCCM with configured settings. Automatically connect to keystore get licencce atc atc.
Only thing i find is ea.ini where i put
"SKT"=dword:00000001
"SSKSAddress"="ssks://keystore"
"SSKSPassword"=""

But when i start EA say there is no licence http://prntscr.com/meudc8
I must go to Yes an add shared licence key.
But after i close EA i must do this again it dont remember settings.

I need deploy full configured EA. User stat EA and dont need nothing to configure.

HELP PLEASE

Geert Bellekens

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 9533
  • Karma: +274/-27
  • Make EA work for YOU!
    • View Profile
    • Enterprise Architect Consultant and Value Added Reseller
Re: Silent install and configuration of client
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2019, 03:51:54 am »
There's a whitepaper about silent deployment available on the sparx website.
That contains the details on how to configure the installation of the client software.

Geert

KONIKPK

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Silent install and configuration of client
« Reply #2 on: February 01, 2019, 06:49:13 pm »
What about link ?

KONIKPK

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Silent install and configuration of client
« Reply #3 on: February 01, 2019, 07:51:52 pm »
There's a whitepaper about silent deployment available on the sparx website.
That contains the details on how to configure the installation of the client software.

Geert

OK i find white paper but this is peace of .....
https://sparxsystems.com/downloads/whitepapers/EA_Deployment.pdf
Its from 2014 OMFG 4 years old and not working of course i make

2. Example registry settings for the service based keystore:
[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Sparx Systems\EA400\EA\OPTIONS]
"SKT"=dword:00000001
"SSKSAddress"="ssks://pathToKeystoreService"
"SSKSPassword"="service password (encrypted)"
"AutoCheckoutEx"=hex:1a,00,00,00


But this is not working. When ea.ini is exist in root folder it always ask for licence.
I need configure ea.ini to working with all users existing or new .

KONIKPK

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Silent install and configuration of client
« Reply #4 on: February 01, 2019, 09:13:50 pm »
OK if some one need this :

Create ea.ini int C:\Program Files (x86)\Sparx Systems\EA\ with this

"SKT"=dword:00000001
"SSKSAddress"="ssks://keystoreserver"
"SSKSPassword"=""
"AutoCheckoutEx"=hex:02,00,00,00
"AutoCheckoutMigration"=dword:00000353
"SSKSDisplayAddress"="ssks://keystoreserver"

bold is important.

Dergib

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Silent install and configuration of client
« Reply #5 on: September 25, 2019, 02:03:25 pm »
Just signed up so I can comment and say thanks this worked nicely for me. I created the ini file and dropped into the folder as mentioned.

Typia

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Silent install and configuration of client
« Reply #6 on: October 09, 2019, 01:17:46 am »
Hi,
is there any way to include activation key ?
15.0 asks for it at first launch.

Aaron B

  • EA Administrator
  • EA User
  • *****
  • Posts: 924
  • Karma: +14/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Silent install and configuration of client
« Reply #7 on: October 09, 2019, 09:43:50 am »
Hi Typia,

No, unfortunately we don't support automating entry of the Activation Code at this time (EA 14+). It needs to be entered manually.

Typia

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Silent install and configuration of client
« Reply #8 on: October 10, 2019, 07:03:42 pm »
Hi Typia,

No, unfortunately we don't support automating entry of the Activation Code at this time (EA 14+). It needs to be entered manually.

So bad ..

we use a floating key and thus have to communicate the activation key to every user.

We didn't have this issue in v12 .. :(

PeterHeintz

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 817
  • Karma: +49/-17
    • View Profile
Re: Silent install and configuration of client
« Reply #9 on: October 10, 2019, 11:41:44 pm »
Yes it is bad  :'( :'( :'( :'( :'(
Best regards,

Peter Heintz

Typia

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Silent install and configuration of client
« Reply #10 on: October 10, 2019, 11:46:33 pm »
Just to add to the discussion,
during our upgrade tests, upgrade to latest V14.1 from v12 didn't trigger the activation windows, neither did the earliest v15 versions.

PeterHeintz

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 817
  • Karma: +49/-17
    • View Profile
Re: Silent install and configuration of client
« Reply #11 on: October 11, 2019, 12:50:56 am »
I am sure it did. However once you have done and you install a new build on the same machine you are not asked anymore. You have to consider as well that the key expires somehow.

To by honest I do not see any reason and purpose wy this key is needed.
Best regards,

Peter Heintz

steen.jensen

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 89
  • Karma: +2/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Silent install and configuration of client
« Reply #12 on: October 11, 2019, 07:43:27 am »
All settings can be made in register at ea400.xx
Make one master install with all needed mdg, workspace settings etc etc
then use whole ea instal folders and copy all ea400.xx settings.
Use those with sccm and the rest of ea package as normal sccm package.

We have used that from EA12, EA13.1, EA 14.1 with no problem (Corporate Floating and SQL DB with several  repositories)
Is going to do that with EA15 when there is some EA15.1 version as we did with EA14.1 
To many bugs and problems with EA 14.0 and suspects the same with EA 15.0
I.e (Archimate, Quick links, Report generation etc etc)

Typia

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Silent install and configuration of client
« Reply #13 on: October 12, 2019, 01:08:48 am »
All settings can be made in register at ea400.xx
Make one master install with all needed mdg, workspace settings etc etc
then use whole ea instal folders and copy all ea400.xx settings.
Use those with sccm and the rest of ea package as normal sccm package.

We have used that from EA12, EA13.1, EA 14.1 with no problem (Corporate Floating and SQL DB with several  repositories)
Is going to do that with EA15 when there is some EA15.1 version as we did with EA14.1 
To many bugs and problems with EA 14.0 and suspects the same with EA 15.0
I.e (Archimate, Quick links, Report generation etc etc)

Could you elaborate please ?
until now we used reg key to add ssks server but we had to chose the license server and had the floating key manually.
Now with this ea.ini solution everything is settled, floating key is already registered, but still have to put the activation key ..

steen.jensen

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 89
  • Karma: +2/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Silent install and configuration of client
« Reply #14 on: October 12, 2019, 03:16:23 am »
Make a komplete installation that works with all your needed settings and then check the Registry /Sparx Systems/ with /EA400 /EAAddins and /SSKeyStore
There you have all keys, Activation code , Licens server etc etc