Author Topic: Relationships matrix support?  (Read 340 times)

Guillaume

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 740
  • Karma: +22/-0
    • View Profile
    • www.umlchannel.com
Relationships matrix support?
« on: February 20, 2019, 08:56:03 pm »
Hi,

Is it possible to share a relationship matrix defined in EA via Prolaborate, or create one via a Prolaborate Widget?
If not, is there any plan to support it in the future?

Thanks,
Guillaume

Blog: www.umlchannel.com | Free utilities addin: www.eautils.com


Prolaborate Support

  • Prolab Moderator
  • EA User
  • *
  • Posts: 54
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
    • Visit us
Re: Relationships matrix support?
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2019, 08:08:21 pm »
Hello Guillaume,

Yes, we are planning to add support for Relationship Matrices in the upcoming release of Prolaborate.

If the goal is to see the relationship of objects across your EA model, you can also try impact analysis views.
https://youtu.be/y94OQvKkmfM

Prolaborate Support

  • Prolab Moderator
  • EA User
  • *
  • Posts: 54
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
    • Visit us
Re: Relationships matrix support?
« Reply #2 on: August 13, 2019, 03:48:59 pm »
Hi Guillaume,

This feature has been released in Prolaborate V3.2. Please check it out.
https://prolaborate.sparxsystems.com/resources/documentation/enterprise-architect-relationship-matrix

Guillaume

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 740
  • Karma: +22/-0
    • View Profile
    • www.umlchannel.com
Re: Relationships matrix support?
« Reply #3 on: August 13, 2019, 05:19:43 pm »
I started testing it and it looks really nice.
I found a few bugs so far:
1. I'm creating a new matrix in Prolaborate, selecting Archimate Biz Processes as the Source, and Biz Actors as the target. These elements are connected via assignment links from actors to processes ; Prolaborate doesn't find this type of link when setting the Connector type since it goes from the target to the source.
2. I created a matrix in EA (Archimate Business Actors vs Roles with Assignment connectors) and opened it in Prolaborate. The connector type filter in Prolaborate is empty and so is the matrix.

Note: it would be handy if we could switch the source and target selections (not available in EA but feasible in Prolaborate I suppose).
« Last Edit: August 13, 2019, 10:34:56 pm by Guillaume »
Guillaume

Blog: www.umlchannel.com | Free utilities addin: www.eautils.com


Arshad

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 179
  • Karma: +11/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Relationships matrix support?
« Reply #4 on: August 16, 2019, 07:58:26 pm »
Hi Guillaume

Both the item which you mentioned seems to be working .

Did you try choosing the direction type as Target -> Source or Both ?
The below example was done exactly as you stated and it worked.
 
.


HTH
Arshad

Guillaume

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 740
  • Karma: +22/-0
    • View Profile
    • www.umlchannel.com
Re: Relationships matrix support?
« Reply #5 on: August 19, 2019, 04:55:44 pm »
Hi Arshad,

I managed to identify the issue having created an additional matrix.
- My business roles are stored in Business \ Business Roles, whereas business actors are stored in Business \ Business Actors
- Actors are assigned to Roles
- When the matrix Source and Target package selection is set to the Business parent package, it works.
- If you set the Source package to Business \ Business Actors and the Target to Business \ Business Roles, Prolaborate no longer finds the associations between these elements.

I noticed that the matrix layout is left/bottom aligned. I guess this is due to the Show configuration on/off button, however this makes a big empty space when you look at the screen on a matrix with only a few elements. Wouldn't it improve the usability to put list target columns at the top and produce a left/top alignment?
Guillaume

Blog: www.umlchannel.com | Free utilities addin: www.eautils.com