Author Topic: Access EA DBMS from Jenkins Build Job  (Read 2128 times)

Glassboy

  • EA Practitioner
  • ***
  • Posts: 1276
  • Karma: +102/-75
    • View Profile
Re: Access EA DBMS from Jenkins Build Job
« Reply #15 on: March 19, 2019, 07:21:26 am »
Jenkins is running under local system account.

Local system is not a user account.
Yeah, that's for sure. And?

And if you keep doing something the wrong way, you are not going to get the result you want.  The Local System account is for the Local System.  It's scope is Local and its context is for the Operating System.

Create a service account, give it the rights and capabilities it needs and run your [user] software in a user context.

Eve

  • EA Administrator
  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 6721
  • Karma: +63/-6
    • View Profile
Re: Access EA DBMS from Jenkins Build Job
« Reply #16 on: March 19, 2019, 09:39:36 am »
Why does EA require a physical logged on user account if I pass the DB credentials via EA API (OpenFile2 instead of OpenFile) and disabled all UI dialogs?
First reason that comes to mind is "NT Authenticated security". Not saying that is the reason, just one example.

Glassboy's suggestion is reasonable. At least you can control what's going on when you do that.
Eve

support@sparxsystems.com

Glassboy

  • EA Practitioner
  • ***
  • Posts: 1276
  • Karma: +102/-75
    • View Profile
Re: Access EA DBMS from Jenkins Build Job
« Reply #17 on: March 19, 2019, 11:54:11 am »
First reason that comes to mind is "NT Authenticated security". Not saying that is the reason, just one example.

It also does not have any profile on the local computer and generally applications like to do things like write to %appdata%.  From memory COM and DCOM are also problematic.