Author Topic: Default programming languange for ALL project  (Read 459 times)

arnew

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Default programming languange for ALL project
« on: March 26, 2019, 01:06:02 am »
Is there a way to set the default programming language for all projects? Not per-project, not per diagram, but once and for all.

Best regards

qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 10585
  • Karma: +232/-192
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re: Default programming languange for ALL project
« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2019, 02:26:35 am »
Modify the default EABase.EAP stored in EA's program folder.

q.

arnew

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Default programming languange for ALL project
« Reply #2 on: March 26, 2019, 08:07:31 am »
... nope, does not work. Still java.

Any other solutions?

Best regards

qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 10585
  • Karma: +232/-192
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re: Default programming languange for ALL project
« Reply #3 on: March 26, 2019, 09:11:41 am »
Ah well, this might be a setting in the registry. So the solution would be to re-distribute a registry export of the folder HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Sparx Systems\EA400\EA\OPTIONS

This will export many other defaults (like working spaces etc. as well).

q.

RoyC

  • EA Administrator
  • EA Practitioner
  • *****
  • Posts: 1239
  • Karma: +13/-4
  • Read The Help!
    • View Profile
Re: Default programming languange for ALL project
« Reply #4 on: March 26, 2019, 09:16:54 am »
I'm not sure what you are reporting here. Are you saying that a new project does not reflect the programming language you have set in EABase?
Best Regards, Roy

qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 10585
  • Karma: +232/-192
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re: Default programming languange for ALL project
« Reply #5 on: March 26, 2019, 09:28:50 am »
I guess he does. I'm currently using my machete to find my path to that default language setting. Not too long ago someone else asked for it (and I found it). But those weeds grow too fast in that EA option jungle :-(

q.

P.S. Actually the model has just a root and you can't set a default. Only if you have a view there's a language property (which likely will be inherited by children). But there IS some default language option (my brain does not get younger...).

P.P.S. Found the post (the help was not helpful here). It's in the Configure/Options/Source menu
« Last Edit: March 26, 2019, 09:39:34 am by qwerty »

qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 10585
  • Karma: +232/-192
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re: Default programming languange for ALL project
« Reply #6 on: March 26, 2019, 09:49:12 am »
So it's in t_genopt. The class key has the settings. And as Roy (and me in the beginning) suggested it is persisted in the model. So you were doing something wrong.

q.

arnew

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Default programming languange for ALL project
« Reply #7 on: April 03, 2019, 06:47:11 pm »
I was able to change the default language by the method described above (on windows you have to open EA in admin mode), but when I tried to add a model using a wizard it still used Java. I figured out that this is because the xml definitions (C:\Program Files (x86)\Sparx Systems\EA\ModelPatterns) for this model template is hardcoded to java, and does not take into account the project or default setting. The version I tried on is 13.5 so this might be changed in v14. I will try on a new version and check.

<Edited>
In version 14.0.1423, the classes from the models created from wizards default to <none>. To me that is semi-ok, they should have, IMHO defaulted to the projects or application default language.

Best regards
Arnew
« Last Edit: April 03, 2019, 07:01:31 pm by arnew »

qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 10585
  • Karma: +232/-192
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re: Default programming languange for ALL project
« Reply #8 on: April 03, 2019, 09:52:27 pm »
You didn't talk about patterns but only model creation in the beginning.

q.

arnew

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Default programming languange for ALL project
« Reply #9 on: April 04, 2019, 12:18:29 am »
I know, but I tested it out on models based on wizard, assuming that would show the effect  :)

Anyway, now I know how it works, and the projects defaults to "my" language, so thanks for the help.

Best regards
Arnew