Author Topic: What about EA running in iOS Catalina version?  (Read 3913 times)

Arquesoft

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 258
  • Karma: +5/-3
  • EA Consulting and development in Spanish
    • View Profile
    • Arquesoft website
What about EA running in iOS Catalina version?
« on: September 03, 2019, 06:24:06 am »
I'm trying to install EA in iOS, in the preview of Catalina (version 10.15 beta), but some of the typical steps to install could not be completed. It is due Catalina has not support for 32 bits apps, so, it would not be possible to run EA in the new version of iOS?

Eve

  • EA Administrator
  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 6841
  • Karma: +66/-7
    • View Profile
Re: What about EA running in iOS Catalina version?
« Reply #1 on: September 03, 2019, 09:03:41 am »
That's correct according to my understanding. Enterprise Architect is only available in 32 bit and if you upgrade to macOS Catalina you will not be able to run it under Wine. (I would assume a virtual machine is still an option)
Eve

support@sparxsystems.com

timoc

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 108
  • Karma: +6/-0
    • View Profile
Re: What about EA running in iOS Catalina version?
« Reply #2 on: September 04, 2019, 09:01:42 pm »
Crossover is the best way to run EA on a non Windows platform. Its worth investing in Crossover (if its supported on Catalina). It is essentially a managed wine implementation.

IIRC, you can get a 30 day demo if crossover, to try it first.

eerohosi

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: What about EA running in iOS Catalina version?
« Reply #3 on: November 17, 2019, 05:39:11 pm »
So it seems that we Catalina Mac users have to stop using Sparx EA.. got to start using Archi for example..

Eve

  • EA Administrator
  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 6841
  • Karma: +66/-7
    • View Profile
Re: What about EA running in iOS Catalina version?
« Reply #4 on: November 18, 2019, 10:13:28 am »
Generally a good idea before doing a major OS upgrade to check if your important applications will continue to work.

If you've already done the upgrade I'd look at a virtual machine.
Eve

support@sparxsystems.com

qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 10624
  • Karma: +233/-194
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re: What about EA running in iOS Catalina version?
« Reply #5 on: November 18, 2019, 10:27:01 am »
Parallels claims to be Catalina compliant and will run Windoze. Means you can use EA further on. I can't confirm yet, since my new MPB is only ordered yet and the old one is stuck on High Sierra.

q.

timoc

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 108
  • Karma: +6/-0
    • View Profile
Re: What about EA running in iOS Catalina version?
« Reply #6 on: November 19, 2019, 06:45:35 pm »
Crossover 19 (in beta) claims to be Catalina compliant.

Eve

  • EA Administrator
  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 6841
  • Karma: +66/-7
    • View Profile
Re: What about EA running in iOS Catalina version?
« Reply #7 on: November 20, 2019, 09:15:56 am »
Crossover 19 (in beta) claims to be Catalina compliant.
Which does not mean that 32 bit Windows apps will run.
Eve

support@sparxsystems.com

qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 10624
  • Karma: +233/-194
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re: What about EA running in iOS Catalina version?
« Reply #8 on: November 20, 2019, 09:23:03 am »
I will comment on Parallels at about 6. December....

q.

Takeshi K

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 355
  • Karma: +9/-1
    • View Profile
Re: What about EA running in iOS Catalina version?
« Reply #9 on: November 21, 2019, 11:36:46 am »
Hi all,

Just for your information, Crossover will support "32 bit on 64 build, which we use to make '32' bit bottles on Catalina". I have not used the beta so I have not confirmed by myself, but it might be helpful to use Enterprise Architect on the new MacOS.

See:
https://www.codeweavers.com/about/blogs/jwhite/2019/11/18/crossover-19-is-progressing-well-and-is-now-in-beta
--
t-kouno

qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 10624
  • Karma: +233/-194
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re: What about EA running in iOS Catalina version?
« Reply #10 on: November 28, 2019, 04:03:47 am »
I just installed Parallels on my new MBP and can confirm that EA runs without issues.

q.