Author Topic: How to group elements?  (Read 350 times)

flexjoly

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 23
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Divaeloper
    • View Profile
    • Female Divaeloper
How to group elements?
« on: June 04, 2019, 09:00:50 pm »
Hi,

I feel stupid asking this question, but I have searched everywhere and cannot find how to group elements in a diagram.

At the moment I am working with some partitions in an activity diagram. I would like to group them. And for example resize them as a group, without needing to select each of them everytime.

Is this possible?

Greetz, flexJoly

Geert Bellekens

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 9480
  • Karma: +266/-27
  • Make EA work for YOU!
    • View Profile
    • Enterprise Architect Consultant and Value Added Reseller
Re: How to group elements?
« Reply #1 on: June 04, 2019, 10:33:08 pm »
No, that is not possible AFAIK

Geert

qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 10585
  • Karma: +232/-192
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re: How to group elements?
« Reply #2 on: June 04, 2019, 10:33:55 pm »
I'm not really sure what you're after. But reading it let's me come up with the answer: not possible.

q.

flexjoly

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 23
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Divaeloper
    • View Profile
    • Female Divaeloper
Re: How to group elements?
« Reply #3 on: June 05, 2019, 12:56:31 am »
ah  :-[

That is a pitty! I tried VP last month... I like EA much more, but on aligning/grouping elements etc. VP is much better.

Would a feature request for 'grouping' (and better automatic aligning and magnetic-sweeper) make any chance?

Thanks for your fast replies.
Greetz, flexJoly

qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 10585
  • Karma: +232/-192
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re: How to group elements?
« Reply #4 on: June 05, 2019, 06:40:04 am »
You never know. A lot of people here asked for graphical improvements since many years. Try sending a feature request (bottom right of this page). But honestly do not hold your breath!

q.

Takeshi K

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 353
  • Karma: +9/-1
    • View Profile
Re: How to group elements?
« Reply #5 on: June 05, 2019, 09:53:26 am »
Hello all,

Grouping is supported on the version 15.0.

HTH,
--
t-kouno

Geert Bellekens

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 9480
  • Karma: +266/-27
  • Make EA work for YOU!
    • View Profile
    • Enterprise Architect Consultant and Value Added Reseller
Re: How to group elements?
« Reply #6 on: June 05, 2019, 01:54:37 pm »
Hello all,

Grouping is supported on the version 15.0.

HTH,
Nice, I guess.
It seems like it can only be used to move the grouped elements to another location on the diagram.
No resizing or anything.

Geert

RoyC

  • EA Administrator
  • EA Practitioner
  • *****
  • Posts: 1239
  • Karma: +13/-4
  • Read The Help!
    • View Profile
Re: How to group elements?
« Reply #7 on: June 05, 2019, 02:25:20 pm »
I could do with some clarification of what you are after. Once you have grouped some elements (Ctrl+Click, Shift+Click and Click+sweep the cursor over the required elements have been available for a long time, and persistent grouping is available in Release 15 Beta) you get the context menu for multiple elements. There are many alignment options there, which are also available through the Layout ribbon and Diagram toolbar. You can Autosize the grouped elements to the default size, and set one element to the size you want and then set the others to the same height and width. Many of the Diagram Layout options work on a group of elements as well as on the whole diagram.

So what do you want to do with your grouped elements?
Best Regards, Roy

flexjoly

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 23
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Divaeloper
    • View Profile
    • Female Divaeloper
Re: How to group elements?
« Reply #8 on: June 08, 2019, 02:50:12 am »
Hi Roy,

Thanks for your reply.
Indeed when selecting multiple elements, almost the same things as with one element. And that is perfect.

Persistent grouping in v15 > that would great!

It is just so you don't need to select all the elements over and over again when editing. And that you can treat them as 'one' element, that you can move, resize, allign etc. like any other element.
Also it works like a soft lock. For you cannot change one of the grouped elements by accident anymore, and getting it unaligned fromthe other elements.

Greetz, flexjoly