Author Topic: sizing elements  (Read 226 times)

GrahamL

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
sizing elements
« on: June 17, 2019, 11:04:32 pm »
Hi
Simple question :

Is there a way to size an element according to its contents?

Thanks

Arquesoft

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 258
  • Karma: +5/-3
  • EA Consulting and development in Spanish
    • View Profile
    • Arquesoft website
Re: sizing elements
« Reply #1 on: June 17, 2019, 11:55:57 pm »
I think no. Except if the element is actually a package and "the content" is the elements or packages that it contains.

But you can create a script that resize the elements in a diagram according to the size of the text. Have in mind the zoom percentage could affect you.

qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 10597
  • Karma: +232/-194
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re: sizing elements
« Reply #2 on: June 18, 2019, 01:20:02 am »
Sizing by what means?

q.

Takeshi K

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 354
  • Karma: +9/-1
    • View Profile
Re: sizing elements
« Reply #3 on: June 18, 2019, 10:02:01 am »
Hello,

If I understand correctly, ALT+Z shortcut is useful.
(For all objects in a diagram, Ctrl+A and then ALT+Z).

You can call this feature from the Ribbon, but I forget where it is.

HTH,
--
t-kouno

Arshad

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 188
  • Karma: +11/-1
    • View Profile
Re: sizing elements
« Reply #4 on: June 18, 2019, 02:27:55 pm »
Hello,

If I understand correctly, ALT+Z shortcut is useful.
(For all objects in a diagram, Ctrl+A and then ALT+Z).

You can call this feature from the Ribbon, but I forget where it is.

HTH,


From context menu.

Right-click on selected elements in a diagram | Autosize (available only when multiple elements are selected)
« Last Edit: June 18, 2019, 04:05:41 pm by Arshad »

Takeshi K

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 354
  • Karma: +9/-1
    • View Profile
Re: sizing elements
« Reply #5 on: June 18, 2019, 03:28:03 pm »
Hi all,

I can find the command in the following Ribbon:-)

Layout ribbon | Diagram panel | Select button | Autosize Selected Elements (in version 15)
Layout ribbon | Diagram panel | Edit button | Autosize Selected Elements (in version 14.1)


--
t-kouno