Author Topic: using eapx with EA v13 possible?  (Read 396 times)

Shegit Brahm

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 95
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
using eapx with EA v13 possible?
« on: July 25, 2019, 07:04:40 pm »
Question: what should I do to open an eapx file with EA v13.5 (Build 1351)?

context:
- I have partners that published an eapx on a team share
- I use eap and v13.5 until now.

the aim I hope for:
- stay on 13.5, open and edit .eap and .eapx "simultanously"

possible workaround:
- convince partner to use a .eap - and hope to get it used with my v13.5
- convince some responsible administrator of my company to upgrade...
- use free offered download to read eapx

=> what is possible, what is best?

As far as I understand https://www.sparxsystems.eu/enterprise-architect/release-history/ it was introduced in EA v14.

That would simply deny a usage with anything earlier.
-> If I create a new project, I get offered .eap & .feap - no .eapx.

in https://www.sparxsystems.com/forums/smf/index.php?topic=42476.0 Geert Bellekens said it should work to open eapx with EAv13.
Just when I try to open the eapx file, I cannot select it as the EA file open dialog does not list ist (only eap & feap).

When I rename to .eap and try to open, my EA claims:
- Cannot overwrite existing file
or
- An error has occured: Unrecognized database format


https://www.sparxsystems.com/forums/smf/index.php/topic,39464.msg248431.html suggests for me,
that there is a setting to enable or disable Jet4 support inside EA.

-> I just don't find any. In case there is this setting - where to find?

https://www.sparxsystems.com/resources/repositories/index.html suggests, I should be able to use a eapx repository sind June 2016, while https://www.sparxsystems.com/forums/smf/index.php/topic,38291.msg238327.html indicates that EA v13.5 was available after May 2017

The user guide on the other hand does not suggest for EA v13.5 that there should eapx be possible:
https://sparxsystems.com.au/enterprise_architect_user_guide/13.5/model_repository/createamodeloverview.html
in comparison to v14
https://sparxsystems.com.au/enterprise_architect_user_guide/14.0/model_repository/createamodeloverview.html

Thanks,
Shegit

PS: within Excel, I once was able to select Jet4 as database engine to get an .mdb imported - which was simply an eap renamed. I just can't remember the circumstances (excel version, click through path).

Shegit Brahm

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 95
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: using eapx with EA v13 possible?
« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2019, 07:30:27 pm »
I found -> Preferences -> General -> "Use Jet 4.0 - requires restart"

hooking that on it displays a warning:


Doing so did _not_ allow me to open eapx directly, just the renamed .eap

Checking now from another PC with "unchanged setting" = no use of Jet4 still opens the eap.

Workaround seems to be just to enable Jet4 and to rename the file.

« Last Edit: July 25, 2019, 08:52:07 pm by Shegit Brahm »

Modesto Vega

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 370
  • Karma: +7/-4
    • View Profile
Re: using eapx with EA v13 possible?
« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2019, 08:25:40 pm »
Try renaming the file by changing the extension from eapx to eap. It has always worked for me but, please keep in mind, that I believe that there are models in v14 that may not be backward compatible. Having said this, I have never come across this.