Author Topic: Diagram filters : move, copy  (Read 7981 times)

Guillaume

  • EA Practitioner
  • ***
  • Posts: 1074
  • Karma: +34/-2
    • View Profile
    • www.umlchannel.com
Diagram filters : move, copy
« on: February 15, 2019, 07:20:16 pm »
It would be nice to improve the management of diagram filters:
- move a filter from a group to another
- duplicate a filter

Filters seem to be stored in the EA project but it doesn't seem to be possible to export them.
- Could they be added to the Export Reference Data?
- Could we have an option in include them in an MDG?

thanks
Guillaume

Blog: www.umlchannel.com | Free utilities addin: www.eautils.com


skiwi

  • EA Practitioner
  • ***
  • Posts: 1949
  • Karma: +42/-82
    • View Profile
Re: Diagram filters : move, copy
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2019, 06:48:10 am »
+1
along with other previous suggestions relating to filters
Orthogonality rules
Using EA15.2 (1555) on Windows 10 Enterprise/64 bit. Repositories in SQLServer2019 & Access2003/JET4.0. WebEA on Pro Cloud Server 4.2.64

Paolo F Cantoni

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 7923
  • Karma: +205/-127
  • Inconsistently correct systems DON'T EXIST!
    • View Profile
Re: Diagram filters : move, copy
« Reply #2 on: April 24, 2020, 11:39:08 am »
It would be nice to improve the management of diagram filters:
- move a filter from a group to another
- duplicate a filter

Filters seem to be stored in the EA project but it doesn't seem to be possible to export them.
- Could they be added to the Export Reference Data?
- Could we have an option to include them in an MDG?

thanks
Some of these seem to have been fixed (v15.1 1528), but I can't see how to Export/Import them. Is that still not available?  A quick trawl through the recent release notes suggests not.  Also, can anyone tell me where they are located in the DB?  I can move them manually for now.

Paolo
« Last Edit: April 24, 2020, 04:59:15 pm by Paolo F Cantoni »
Inconsistently correct systems DON'T EXIST!
... Therefore, aim for consistency; in the expectation of achieving correctness....
-Semantica-
Helsinki Principle Rules!

Geert Bellekens

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 11202
  • Karma: +412/-33
  • Make EA work for YOU!
    • View Profile
    • Enterprise Architect Consultant and Value Added Reseller
Re: Diagram filters : move, copy
« Reply #3 on: April 24, 2020, 04:04:12 pm »
(v15.1 1529)
Is that a typo, or do you have privileged access to the new version?
The latest version I have is 15.1.1528

Geert

Paolo F Cantoni

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 7923
  • Karma: +205/-127
  • Inconsistently correct systems DON'T EXIST!
    • View Profile
Re: Diagram filters : move, copy
« Reply #4 on: April 24, 2020, 05:01:58 pm »
(v15.1 1529)
Is that a typo, or do you have privileged access to the new version?
The latest version I have is 15.1.1528

Geert
Who me?  I'd probably be the last one...  No, it's a typo - fixed!

The Filters (as Thomas' excellent book - "Inside EA" tells us) are in t_xrefsystem.  But on my SQL Server repository, I couldn't add any records directly.  But I could via the UI.  Does anybody else see that?

Paolo
Inconsistently correct systems DON'T EXIST!
... Therefore, aim for consistency; in the expectation of achieving correctness....
-Semantica-
Helsinki Principle Rules!