Author Topic: Notes in requirements diagram  (Read 341 times)

benem

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Notes in requirements diagram
« on: July 21, 2020, 07:12:55 pm »
Hello.
I have a problem with the requirement diagram.
Every time I create a new requirement in the diagram, the symbol includes the name and the note.

Anyway, if I delete the note contents, the lower part in the symbol disappears and never reappears even if I write something again in the note.

I cannot find a way to show the note again other than recreate the symbol. The not is shown if I choose rectangle view but this is inconsistent with the rest of the diagram (unless I change everything in rectangle view that I don't like).

The same problem happens if I toggle from normal view to rectangle view and back. When I toggle to normal view, the notes doesn't reappears.

Thanks.



qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 11402
  • Karma: +295/-263
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re: Notes in requirements diagram
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2020, 07:43:46 pm »
Which kind of requirement do you create? From which MDG?

q.

PeterHeintz

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 867
  • Karma: +52/-18
    • View Profile
Re: Notes in requirements diagram
« Reply #2 on: July 21, 2020, 10:25:59 pm »
Among other things you can control the visibility of notes on diagram or elements level.
To control the visibility on diagram levels, go to the diagram properties select “Elements” and check or uncheck under “Show Compartments”  “Notes”.
To control the visibility on element levels, select the element in the diagram press “Shift” & “Strg” & “y” to open the “Compartment Visibility” dialog and check or uncheck “Notes”.
Best regards,

Peter Heintz

benem

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Notes in requirements diagram
« Reply #3 on: July 22, 2020, 01:43:00 am »
Among other things you can control the visibility of notes on diagram or elements level.
To control the visibility on diagram levels, go to the diagram properties select “Elements” and check or uncheck under “Show Compartments”  “Notes”.
To control the visibility on element levels, select the element in the diagram press “Shift” & “Strg” & “y” to open the “Compartment Visibility” dialog and check or uncheck “Notes”.

Thank you for your answer. Unfortunately none of those works. At this point I start to think that it is a bug. There is two way for an element to don't show the notes anymore:
Delete the notes and try to reinsert,
toggle the element in rectangle mode and back.

If I create a new element, initially doesn't have the notes. As soon as I put something in there, the notes appears on the diagram.

Unfortunately I cannot attach images in the forum to show you the problem.

benem

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Notes in requirements diagram
« Reply #4 on: July 22, 2020, 01:45:22 am »
Which kind of requirement do you create? From which MDG?

q.

How can tell you? I create the diagram using the wizard called Two Level Requirement Hierarchy. And both modify the element put by the wizard or add new element from the toolbox.

qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 11402
  • Karma: +295/-263
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re: Notes in requirements diagram
« Reply #5 on: July 22, 2020, 06:10:08 am »
The MDG name is written as title above in the wizard dialogue.

q.

benem

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Notes in requirements diagram
« Reply #6 on: July 22, 2020, 06:35:47 pm »
The MDG name is written as title above in the wizard dialogue.


Those are the steps to reproduce it:

  • right click on any package in the brower
  • choose Add Diagram...

In the dialog...

  • select Requirements/Requiremnts in the type dropdown
  • select Extended in Select from listbox
  • select Requirements in the Diagram Types listbox
  • click Ok

Add notes to Dialog Element Properties (non needed if you create the requirement diagram from wizard):

  • right click on diagram and choose Properties
  • select Element on the left listbox
  • enable Notes in Show Compartments listbox
  • click ok

Create a requirement symbol:

  • In the toolbox select Requirement
  • click on a diagram to create one
  • double click on the Requirement symbol
  • write something in the rich text edit box under the Name edibox
  • click ok

Now you should see the notes compartment with the note you have written.

  • right click the requirement symbol
  • choose Advanced/Use rectangle notation

the symbol changes its shape with the notes shown.

  • right click the requirement symbol
  • choose Advanced/Use rectangle notation

the symbol shapes returns to the original but there isn't the notes and, from this point it is impossible to have back in the diagram using normal notation, Only in rectangular one.

Thanks

qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 11402
  • Karma: +295/-263
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re: Notes in requirements diagram
« Reply #7 on: July 22, 2020, 08:46:11 pm »
Nope. The notes are still visible. Maybe you should contact Sparx support via mail.

Maybe you should run a consistency check once.

Also look for any MDGs/add-ins and turn them off to see if one of them causes the trouble.

q.

benem

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Notes in requirements diagram
« Reply #8 on: July 23, 2020, 11:11:26 pm »
Nope. The notes are still visible. Maybe you should contact Sparx support via mail.

Maybe you should run a consistency check once.

Also look for any MDGs/add-ins and turn them off to see if one of them causes the trouble.

q.

Thank you for answer. I'll contact the support soon.
In meantime I've found a workaround. Delete the element from the diagram and put it back dragging from browser.