Author Topic: load script from file?  (Read 281 times)

michielper

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 149
  • Karma: +2/-1
    • View Profile
load script from file?
« on: August 28, 2020, 07:42:58 pm »
In the EA script editor, one can rather easily save a script to a file. However, there seems to be no similar way to load a script from a file (other than copy/paste). Am I missing something? Is there a way to load a script from a file? This is certainly a much needed feature for anyone writing non-trivial scripts.

Geert Bellekens

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 10418
  • Karma: +343/-30
  • Make EA work for YOU!
    • View Profile
    • Enterprise Architect Consultant and Value Added Reseller
Re: load script from file?
« Reply #1 on: August 28, 2020, 07:57:29 pm »

Geert Bellekens

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 10418
  • Karma: +343/-30
  • Make EA work for YOU!
    • View Profile
    • Enterprise Architect Consultant and Value Added Reseller
Re: load script from file?
« Reply #2 on: August 28, 2020, 09:36:45 pm »
Further to this; I've stopped using LoadScripts a while ago.

When I need to transfer scripts from one model to another I use Refdata Export + RefDatasplitter https://github.com/GeertBellekens/EARefDataSplitter

This ensures that the scripts have exactly the same internal ID on all environments.

I use SaveAllScripts to upload my scripts to my version control system.
Using Github Desktop that gives me a nice overview of the changes made to the scripts at each commit.

Geert