Author Topic: [EA 15.2] - Search box in HTML export  (Read 8438 times)

jack89

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 43
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
[EA 15.2] - Search box in HTML export
« on: April 06, 2021, 06:28:10 pm »
Hi All,

I'm looking for a simple method to add a search box into HTML model export.

Let me explain better: I usually share my model that has a lot of packages through EA HTML export. My request is to add a simple search box in the html export that helps the final user to quick find a diagram.

The search box could simply search by diagram name.

Anyone has some ideas regarding how to implement that? If yes,  could you please list few examples of the required HTML changes?

Thank you in advance!

Geert Bellekens

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 11243
  • Karma: +413/-33
  • Make EA work for YOU!
    • View Profile
    • Enterprise Architect Consultant and Value Added Reseller
Re: [EA 15.2] - Search box in HTML export
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2021, 10:24:59 pm »
This issue was discussed on this forum a while ago (several years I think). I remember someone posting some kind of a solution.
If you use the search option you should be able to find it.

Geert

AndyJ

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 336
  • Karma: +5/-3
  • It's only a model
    • View Profile
Re: [EA 15.2] - Search box in HTML export
« Reply #2 on: April 08, 2021, 01:43:31 pm »
...

If you use the search option you should be able to find it.

Geert

Ooooo I see what you did there.
Sun Tzu: "If you sit by the river long enough, eventually the body of MS Visio floats past."

Geert Bellekens

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 11243
  • Karma: +413/-33
  • Make EA work for YOU!
    • View Profile
    • Enterprise Architect Consultant and Value Added Reseller
Re: [EA 15.2] - Search box in HTML export
« Reply #3 on: April 08, 2021, 02:17:10 pm »
...

If you use the search option you should be able to find it.

Geert

Ooooo I see what you did there.
You do?
Not sure if I know what did, not on purpose anyway :-\

Geert

Richard Freggi

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 353
  • Karma: +13/-7
    • View Profile
Re: [EA 15.2] - Search box in HTML export
« Reply #4 on: April 08, 2021, 05:50:54 pm »
The IDEA plugin (downloadable from Sparx plugin page, or Google it) has a function to generate html report with search function, have not looked into it myself but it may be what you are looking for.

Geert Bellekens

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 11243
  • Karma: +413/-33
  • Make EA work for YOU!
    • View Profile
    • Enterprise Architect Consultant and Value Added Reseller
Re: [EA 15.2] - Search box in HTML export
« Reply #5 on: April 08, 2021, 06:23:57 pm »
...

If you use the search option you should be able to find it.

Geert

Ooooo I see what you did there.
You do?
Not sure if I know what did, not on purpose anyway :-\

Geert
Ah, the penny has dropped. ;D
I'm a bit slow today :-[

Geert

jack89

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 43
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [EA 15.2] - Search box in HTML export
« Reply #6 on: April 12, 2021, 10:49:34 pm »
The IDEA plugin (downloadable from Sparx plugin page, or Google it) has a function to generate html report with search function, have not looked into it myself but it may be what you are looking for.

I tried this plugin, but it generates a different html version of the model and unfortunately it is not suitable for my application.

I was looking for a modification of html template a sort of:

<div>
       <input type="text" id="myInput" onkeyup="searchDiagram()" placeholder="Search for diagrams..">
</div>

<script>
       function searchDiagram() {}
</script>

Anyone has an idea how to write the function searchDiagram in order to search into html export a diagram name?

pmanzo

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [EA 15.2] - Search box in HTML export
« Reply #7 on: May 13, 2021, 06:37:14 pm »
Hi forum,

any news or idea on the topic? I have the same issue and an answer can be very helpful for me.

Best Regards,
P.

anovati

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [EA 15.2] - Search box in HTML export
« Reply #8 on: May 20, 2021, 06:26:23 pm »
Hi forum,
I'm developing an EA model that will be shared with my colleagues by HTML export.
I think that this 'search function' that you are talking about would be fundamental to help my colleagues in finding the informations they need easily.
I searched in the forum the precedent post cited by Geert and I found it (https://www.sparxsystems.com/forums/smf/index.php?topic=40020.0), but there was no handy solution  :'(.

Do you have any news on this topic?
It would be great to have such a feature in my project  ;D!

thank you in advance,
Alex

jack89

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 43
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [EA 15.2] - Search box in HTML export
« Reply #9 on: May 31, 2021, 06:13:04 pm »
Anyone expert in scripting has some ideas?
I think that this topic could be very useful to everyone in this community!

let's make EA html report more powerful!
If anyone expert has some guidelines, I can work or collaborate to develop this feature!

jack89

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 43
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [EA 15.2] - Search box in HTML export
« Reply #10 on: July 01, 2021, 01:46:51 am »
any update about this topic?

jack89

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 43
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [EA 15.2] - Search box in HTML export
« Reply #11 on: September 17, 2021, 10:28:45 pm »
anyone has some idea about this topic?