Author Topic: Where is my menu (in 15.2): Show system output  (Read 2225 times)

qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 12333
  • Karma: +347/-287
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Where is my menu (in 15.2): Show system output
« on: April 14, 2021, 11:39:31 pm »
I can't get my head around enough. Where did they hide the window selection? This is soooo frustrating. I can't imagine what average EA users will think of this hide and seek (though they probably have less interest in that special window).

q.

qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 12333
  • Karma: +347/-287
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re: Where is my menu (in 15.2): Show system output
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2021, 11:44:23 pm »
Found it under, oh gone again. Well, I'll find it again. It would be funny. But actually it isn't.

q.

qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 12333
  • Karma: +347/-287
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re: Where is my menu (in 15.2): Show system output
« Reply #2 on: April 14, 2021, 11:45:06 pm »
Ah. Portals/Windows.

q.

Geert Bellekens

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 11243
  • Karma: +413/-33
  • Make EA work for YOU!
    • View Profile
    • Enterprise Architect Consultant and Value Added Reseller
Re: Where is my menu (in 15.2): Show system output
« Reply #3 on: April 15, 2021, 12:47:52 am »
Ah. Portals/Windows.

q.
Yep, that's my route as well for these things

Geert

RoyC

  • EA Administrator
  • EA Practitioner
  • *****
  • Posts: 1297
  • Karma: +21/-4
  • Read The Help!
    • View Profile
Re: Where is my menu (in 15.2): Show system output
« Reply #4 on: April 15, 2021, 09:44:44 am »
You can also find it under Start > Desktop > Design > Explore, or by pressing Ctrl+Shift+8.
Best Regards, Roy

qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 12333
  • Karma: +347/-287
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re: Where is my menu (in 15.2): Show system output
« Reply #5 on: April 15, 2021, 07:08:54 pm »
I don't think I need a keyboard shortcut since window layout is rather stable over time. Anyhow, thanks for the links.

q.

Glassboy

  • EA Practitioner
  • ***
  • Posts: 1366
  • Karma: +110/-75
    • View Profile
Re: Where is my menu (in 15.2): Show system output
« Reply #6 on: April 23, 2021, 09:56:49 am »
I don't think I need a keyboard shortcut since window layout is rather stable over time. Anyhow, thanks for the links.

q.

I can never find the Portals menu item so I Google the keyboard shortcut :-)

RoyC

  • EA Administrator
  • EA Practitioner
  • *****
  • Posts: 1297
  • Karma: +21/-4
  • Read The Help!
    • View Profile
Re: Where is my menu (in 15.2): Show system output
« Reply #7 on: April 23, 2021, 10:35:38 am »
I'm not sure what you mean by the 'Portals menu item' - are you looking for something that displays the Portals or for something accessed from a menu within the Portals?

There are so many ways to access the Portals, but the most obvious way is through the Portals icon at the left of every ribbon.
Best Regards, Roy

qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 12333
  • Karma: +347/-287
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re: Where is my menu (in 15.2): Show system output
« Reply #8 on: April 23, 2021, 05:34:47 pm »
Roy, it may seem pretty obvious to you. But every one changing from any version has to find a way through a new menu maze. This is pretty anoying (and in most cases pointless since the new menu isn't easier to navigate compared to its siblings). I wonder who at Sparx thinks about average stakeholders that went through a (from their perspective anoying) course to learn EA and with the next version they have to learn it all anew.

q.