Author Topic: Compare two models  (Read 2879 times)

Typia

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 69
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Compare two models
« on: June 29, 2021, 07:50:47 pm »
Hi,
I have two models stored in 2 different DB repositories, is there any way to compare differences between the 2 models ?

Many thanks,

Best regards

qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 12334
  • Karma: +347/-287
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re: Compare two models
« Reply #1 on: June 29, 2021, 08:19:27 pm »
The word "difference" probably needs elaboration.

q.

Typia

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 69
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Compare two models
« Reply #2 on: June 29, 2021, 09:34:50 pm »
Hi !
Elaboration :

Project B is copy of Project A 1 month ago
Team should have worked on project A but some team members worked on project B
I want to know which object are different between two projects

Geert Bellekens

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 11251
  • Karma: +415/-33
  • Make EA work for YOU!
    • View Profile
    • Enterprise Architect Consultant and Value Added Reseller
Re: Compare two models
« Reply #3 on: June 29, 2021, 09:49:52 pm »
You can export (parts) to xmi and then compare to the xmi file.

Geert

qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 12334
  • Karma: +347/-287
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re: Compare two models
« Reply #4 on: June 29, 2021, 10:14:35 pm »
You could also do a baseline compare within EA. In any case a model compare is not as easy as code or text comparison. So epecially if there's a chunk of work "somewhere". Better to have work done in a dedicated part and replace/import that. Even that has its pitfalls. Of course working permenently on a central model would be the best. But where you can't do that you need some integration team to bring work together and re-distribute the result.

q.

Takeshi K

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 394
  • Karma: +15/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Compare two models
« Reply #5 on: June 30, 2021, 10:01:24 am »
Hello Typia,

LemonTree could solve your problem. If I understand correctly, the latest LemonTree supports comparison between DBMS Repositories.
For detail, please ask to LieberLieber (developer of LemonTree).

HTH,

--
t-kouno