Author Topic: v15.2 – “Wrap label regardless” option  (Read 4145 times)

Paolo F Cantoni

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 7947
  • Karma: +206/-127
  • Inconsistently correct systems DON'T EXIST!
    • View Profile
v15.2 – “Wrap label regardless” option
« on: July 23, 2021, 10:06:59 am »
One of our users has a requirement to wrap a Label regardless of the fact that there are no (usual) wrapping points (spaces predominantly).  In this case, it was URL endpoint specifications (in Azure).  Can we have a "wrap regardless" option on the Label context menu?  It would force the label to wrap at the current (width) sizing.

Thoughts?
Reported,
Paolo
Inconsistently correct systems DON'T EXIST!
... Therefore, aim for consistency; in the expectation of achieving correctness....
-Semantica-
Helsinki Principle Rules!

qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 12329
  • Karma: +347/-287
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re: v15.2 – “Wrap label regardless” option
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2021, 06:23:41 pm »
For my feeling a label should be as short as possible. The need for wrapping just runs diametral against my feelings here.

q.

Paolo F Cantoni

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 7947
  • Karma: +206/-127
  • Inconsistently correct systems DON'T EXIST!
    • View Profile
Re: v15.2 – “Wrap label regardless” option
« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2021, 08:22:00 pm »
For my feeling, a label should be as short as possible. The need for wrapping just runs diametral against my feelings here.

q.
That used to be my view.  I all the decade-plus I've been using EA, the problem never occurred.  But the length of the label that MUST Be displayed is not set by us but by external parties so we need to handle it as best as possible.

Paolo
Inconsistently correct systems DON'T EXIST!
... Therefore, aim for consistency; in the expectation of achieving correctness....
-Semantica-
Helsinki Principle Rules!