Author Topic: Rename searches in the MDG or create My Searches Groups  (Read 4362 times)

Guillaume

  • EA Practitioner
  • ***
  • Posts: 1088
  • Karma: +34/-2
    • View Profile
    • www.umlchannel.com
Rename searches in the MDG or create My Searches Groups
« on: September 17, 2021, 07:34:50 pm »
Hello,

I have many custom searches that have been created for clients or demo MDG Technologies.
Since all searches as available from the "My Searches" group, I apply a prefix matching the client or project e.g. eaUtils - Find ...

The issue with this approach is that clients get a list of searches that start with this prefix e.g.
ProjectA - Find applications by Vendor
ProjectA - Find applications by Domain ...

When generating the MDG, could we have an additional step on Searches so after the embedded custom searches are selected, one could enter the search name that will be visible in the Search Menu (removing Project A prefix from the previous example) ?

Alternatively, could we create locally search groups (My Searches 1, My Searches 2) to manage separate lists?
Guillaume

Blog: www.umlchannel.com | Free utilities addin: www.eautils.com


qwerty

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 12446
  • Karma: +348/-291
  • I'm no guru at all
    • View Profile
Re: Rename searches in the MDG or create My Searches Groups
« Reply #1 on: September 17, 2021, 07:52:40 pm »
also +1

q.

Paolo F Cantoni

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 8001
  • Karma: +211/-127
  • Inconsistently correct systems DON'T EXIST!
    • View Profile
Re: Rename searches in the MDG or create My Searches Groups
« Reply #2 on: September 17, 2021, 08:30:39 pm »
and me!

Paolo
Inconsistently correct systems DON'T EXIST!
... Therefore, aim for consistency; in the expectation of achieving correctness....
-Semantica-
Helsinki Principle Rules!

Graham_Moir

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 739
  • Karma: +8/-15
    • View Profile
Re: Rename searches in the MDG or create My Searches Groups
« Reply #3 on: September 22, 2021, 09:25:48 pm »
and me