Author Topic: Is it possible to use a custom MDG with PCS and WebEA?  (Read 3813 times)

Modesto Vega

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 640
  • Karma: +18/-8
    • View Profile
Is it possible to use a custom MDG with PCS and WebEA?
« on: October 08, 2021, 12:41:41 am »
Is it possible to use a custom MDG with PCS and WebEA? The reason for the question is that WebEA renders all diagrams using standard Sparx EA shapes instead of using the MDG's shape scripts.

Geert Bellekens

  • EA Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 11315
  • Karma: +422/-33
  • Make EA work for YOU!
    • View Profile
    • Enterprise Architect Consultant and Value Added Reseller
Re: Is it possible to use a custom MDG with PCS and WebEA?
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2021, 02:47:31 am »
I'm pretty sure that's possible yes.

There might be a difference in how you load the MDG though.
I can imagine that MDG's that are imported in your profile, or via a path to an MDG folder don't work as well as MDG's loaded in the model or the program files.

Geert

Modesto Vega

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 640
  • Karma: +18/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Is it possible to use a custom MDG with PCS and WebEA?
« Reply #2 on: October 11, 2021, 08:39:16 pm »
I'm pretty sure that's possible yes.

There might be a difference in how you load the MDG though.
I can imagine that MDG's that are imported in your profile, or via a path to an MDG folder don't work as well as MDG's loaded in the model or the program files.

Geert
The reason for the question is that I cannot find any documents on how to this.

ddrakos

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Is it possible to use a custom MDG with PCS and WebEA?
« Reply #3 on: November 27, 2021, 10:38:44 pm »
Hi,

it is possible to use custom MDG for WebEA. Install EA desktop client in PCS host and configure MDG Specialize -> Manage-Tech -> Advanced. Enable Worker in Pro Cloud Server (Periodically generate diagram Images for WebEA - Prolaborate).


Modesto Vega

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 640
  • Karma: +18/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Is it possible to use a custom MDG with PCS and WebEA?
« Reply #4 on: December 01, 2021, 01:04:06 am »
Thanks ddrakos. Just to clarify, are you saying that this cannot be done without having the EA desktop client on the server?

If this the case, it would be nice if Sparx Systems enabled this without having to have the desktop client on the server.

ddrakos

  • EA Novice
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Is it possible to use a custom MDG with PCS and WebEA?
« Reply #5 on: December 02, 2021, 07:49:05 pm »
Hi,

exactly since EAWorker does not provide an interface for MDG configuration.

Regards
Drakos   

Modesto Vega

  • EA User
  • **
  • Posts: 640
  • Karma: +18/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Is it possible to use a custom MDG with PCS and WebEA?
« Reply #6 on: December 02, 2021, 09:35:38 pm »
Thanks ddrakos, much appreciated.

It would be nice  if Sparx Systems enabled this without having to have the desktop client on the server.